Gwoba-Wubba?

So today was sufficiently awful.

But you know what made it better? The news that we LANDED ON A FREAKING COMET.

Isn’t that the most ridiculously cool thing? I, for one, didn’t even know we had plans to land on a comet, let alone that Rosetta was launched way back in 2004. I was in high school then!

It’s just so sci-fi, isn’t it? I guess now we have our backup plan ready for when global warming gets out of control even more so than it is. Comet ice mining will solve the problem ONCE AND FOR ALL!

TWSB: You Missed a (Big) Spot

Jupiter news!

So we all know the giant red spot on the giant, fast-rotating planet, right?

Of course we do! But do we know why it’s red?

For a long time, the main theory has been that the spot is red because the giant storm creating it is churning up reddish chemicals from beneath Jupiter’s clouds and bringing them to the surface for us to see.

But a new theory states that the redness of the massive swirling isn’t due to chemicals from beneath the clouds but rather due to chemical reactions with sunlight. Work by Kevin Bains, Bob Carlson, and Tom Momary, scientists based at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory, state that based on data collected from both laboratory experiments and Cassini’s flyby of the planet in 2000, they suspect that the red tint is due to the effects of ultraviolet light on ammonia and acetylene, the gases in the uppermost portion of the storm.

Baines states that if this is the case, then the spot is probably pretty dull in color beneath its uppermost clouds. According to the older theory, if the reddish chemicals are indeed coming from beneath the clouds, then the spot would be red all the way through. Baines and the others are currently doing more testing/simulations to try to gain evidence about what color lies beneath the red.

As for why the great red spot is, well, the only great red spot on the planet, Baines suggests it’s because it’s a very tall storm—much taller than any other—and thus is more likely to get “sunburnt.”

 

Protected: It’s A Party in the Polar Vortex!

This content is password-protected. To view it, please enter the password below.

Ha

Idea: someone should make a pirate-themed R how-to book and call it R Matey. There would be a little cartoon parrot throughout giving little hints and tricks.

*squawk* “Close your brackets! Close your brackets!” *squawk*

Sleep deprivation is fun.

Canadian Mall – Installment 20: Chinook Centre

It’s Canadian Mall tiiiiime! LET’S DO THIS.

Mileage from home to mall (one way):

image(18)

Pros:

  • While it’s a moderately long walk here, it’s not a bad walk. No weird “hey, we’re going to not put a sidewalk here just to screw with you” blocks
  • Buckets o’ stores. Seriously. It’s a huge mall.
  • The layout’s not terrible.

Cons:

  • People EVERYWHERE.
  • There were so many people that I actually had no desire to go into any of the stores; I just went in, did my mandatory walk-through, and went back out.
  • While the layout’s not terrible, I still got lost in it ‘cause I’m me.
  • Some lady almost mowed me over in the crosswalk outside. Like seriously, did she really need to gun it out of the parking lot that quickly? I had the right-of-way (the “walk” sign was clearly still white and not flashing red) but she certainly didn’t give a crap. Good thing I was paying attention.

Tree Tunes

So this is the first NaNo where it’s felt like my story should have a soundtrack. Not sure why. If this were ever good enough to be adapted into a movie, it’d sure be a slow-moving one, what with the main characters being trees and the whole story mostly consisting of tree thoughts and tree conversations (though there is a fire). But over the past few days I’ve already found some good tree music (both in my music library and in general), so I figured why not make a list of songs that sound very “tree-like” to me.

Onward!

  • I Bet My Life – Imagine Dragons (this would be like the main song; this is very tree-ish to me for some reason)
  • I See Fire – Ed Sheeran
  • Magma – The Vein
  • All That We Had Is Lost – Postiljonen
  • Touch the Sky – Iambic

Haha, okay, so I guess there aren’t that many. BUT STILL.

Sorry, not much to say today.

Shock and Awful

I am inadequaaaaaaaate why am I even in grad school?

(It’s one of those days, sorry.)
(No, I’m not sorry.)
(I can feel like an incompetent piece of nonsense if I want to, dammit.)
(And I want to.)
(Parentheses.)

 

[I can also feel inadequate because I totally skipped over this post back in November when I was supposed to post it.]

I needed this today.

Little dude.

(Click on him and hold.)

[I totally forgot to post this and the next post back in November, haha. I just totally skipped over it.]

GIANT REDWOODS!

TREEEEEEEEEEEEES!

Dude. These redwoods are so freaking cool. I had no idea.

Some summarized facts from here:

  • Redwoods have been around for 240 million years; the currently oldest living one is at least 2,200 years old (that’s one of the trees in my NaNo!).
  • There are approximately 50 redwoods taller than 360 feet (the tallest redwood is also in my story!).
  • The sequoiadendron giganteum, the “giant sequoia,” grows in California’s Sierra Nevada range and nowhere else on earth.
  • The bark on a redwood can be up to a foot thick, and they are very fire- and bug-resistant.

Seriously, read about these awesome things (there’s a lot more on that site). I really want to go see the California redwoods now, even if I don’t stumble upon the Grove of Titans (coolest name or coolest name?).

WOO!

OK Go? More like OK WHOA amirite?

I didn’t like this song at first.
Now it’s a five-star.

Also, I’m pretty sure the next step in OK Go Music Video Land is to shoot a vid in space or something.

DST

This needs to become a real movie.

Boots: Claudia Style

Today I shall show you how to go walking in the snow/rain when you’re an idiot like me and live in Canada but haven’t bought boots yet.

READY?

Supplies:

  1. Two plastic bags (or two large Ziplock baggies)
  2. Pair of knee-high socks
  3. Pair of knee-high socks that you don’t mind stretching a bit
  4. Shoes
  5. Feet (not pictured).

image(18)

Step 1: insert feet into pair of knee-high socks.

image(19)

Step 2: put baggies over socks as shown.

image(20)

Step 3: put other pair of knee-high socks over baggied feet.

Step 3.5: MAXIMUM CANKLE

image(21)

Step 4: put on pants and shoes.

image(22)

Step 5: ???

Step 6: PROFIT! Or go walking, either one.

What I lack in common sense I make up for in…um…interesting ways to compensate for my lack of common sense.

EDIT: WELL THAT WAS A SUCKY WALK. Even with plastic protection, I was NOT going to walk through five blocks of flooded sidewalk. Nope nope nope. Also my iPod pedometer app had a flip-out moment so I lost half my mileage.

I’m frustrated now.

2spooky4nanowrimo

Happy Halloween!

And happy midnight kickoff of NaNoWriMo!

So I’m definitely doing my tree story. I have no idea what the plot’s going to be yet, but I have two character names in mind. Considering this is the most I’ve ever had planned out before a NaNo, I figured why not.

Be prepared for a lot of tree posts.

(I tried to think of a good pun but I failed. Great start to the new month, huh?)

More Spookiness – 2008 Version

So remember on Monday when I said I didn’t want to talk about the Idler’s Rest thing ‘cause it was too freaky?

I want to talk about the Idler’s Rest thing.

Actually, my original post on it way back in 2008 was pretty short and crappy, mainly because when I posted it I was still freaked out by the whole thing. But given that it’s been awhile (and given that I’m still thinking about those Reddit posts, haha), let’s relive some trauma, okay?

ALRIGHTY!

So this happened in the summer of 2008. Rob and I usually took my mom’s car on the weekend—either Saturday or Sunday—to go on our little “dates” because we didn’t want to go to my dad’s house and we couldn’t go to his house because…yeah.

Anyway, on this particular day we decided to drive out to Idler’s Rest and just hang out there for the day. I think we brought a tent and camped out until it got dark, and then just sat in the car.

Actually, we put the back seats down and just laid in the very back looking up at the stars through the moon roof. And no, there was no perversion; what we were actually doing was debating free will and determinism, haha. I remember our debate lasted for like 5 hours and by the time it had mostly worn down it was near midnight.

Anyway, we kept talking for awhile until all of a sudden we both got really quiet. I’d gotten this extremely unsettling feeling—like our lives were in immediate danger. I look over at Rob and he whispered the same thing—that he suddenly felt like something was really wrong.

It felt like there was something right outside the car. It felt like it—and we were both feeling like if we were to get up off the back floor the thing, whatever it was, would see us and attack.

I am not exaggerating; I know it sounds super dumb, but we were both actually shaking because we really, really felt like we were in danger. I don’t know if it was an animal or a human, but I’ve never felt so scared in my entire life. It’s hard to describe exactly what it was like, but it was almost as if we could sense it trying to look into the car to see if there were people in it.

(I’m getting serious chills writing about this even though it’s been like six years.)

So we stayed as still as we could for like ten minutes and the feeling never passed, so eventually we decided that we’d motor to the front seats, chuck the keys in the ignition as fast as we could, and gun it out of there.

Which is what we did.

Even on the ride back into Moscow that unsettling feeling didn’t go away for either of us. Later, after I’d dropped Rob off at his house, he messaged me asking if I’d gotten home okay. We still were both feeling really, really scared. I actually checked the newspaper the next morning to see if there had been anyone killed out at Idler’s Rest (or in Moscow itself)—that’s how strong the feeling was.

It did finally go away by that next morning and neither of us could ever offer an explanation of why we’d felt that way, but we’d both felt it very, very strongly.

It’s still the scariest thing that’s ever happened to me, even though nothing really happened. It wouldn’t have been so scary, I think, if only one of us had felt so unsettled, but we both felt it and we’d both started feeling it at the same time.

Blaughghghg. I’m freaked out just thinking about it again.

Haha, happy early Halloween I guess.

Yo Dawg…

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, INTERNET!

In celebration, have some…um…internet! Most of these are classics by this point, but they may not have been seen in awhile depending on how much you internet reminisce.

My Horse

All Your Base

Peanut Butter Jelly

Nyan Cat

Hamsterdance (closest thing I could find to the original site that would actually load)

Numanuma

And don’t forget old Google!

Google1998

Enjoy.

News from the Antarctic!

WHAT IS THIS (and why have I not heard about this discovery until now?).

In January of 2013, a photographer’s notebook was found at one of Robert Falcon Scott’s base camps in Antarctica.

(Scott, for those of you unaware, was a British explorer who raced for the South Pole in 1912 against Norwegian Roald Amundsen, but died on his return from the Pole after discovering Amundsen had reached it days earlier).

The notebook is a photographer’s notebook and belonged to George Murray Levick, a surgeon and photographer who had been part of Scott’s last expedition. In it are notes about photos Levick had taken at Cape Adare, which is on an itty bitty little projection of land off of Victoria Land (near the Ross Ice Shelf).

Those in charge of the Antarctic Heritage Trust say that they can match up Levick’s notes with many of the pictures that they’ve already got preserved.

How cool is that?

(I still want to go down there.)

Creeeeepy

Okay, yeah, I’m not sleeping tonight.

I generally find these more disturbing than your general “tell me something scary that happened to you” stories, though there is some definite overlap between those and some of the ones on that thread.

I’ve never had anything happen to me that’s quite as creepy/coincidental/goosebump-provoking as any of these, though that thing with Rob at Idler’s Rest was certainly the scariest thing that’s ever happened to me. But let’s not talk about that, huh?

Conduct of Code

OH MY GOD this looks like fun.

From the site (and in case you don’t want to click the link for whatever reason): “Project Euler is a series of challenging mathematical/computer programming problems that will require more than just mathematical insights to solve. Although mathematics will help you arrive at elegant and efficient methods, the use of a computer and programming skills will be required to solve most problems. The motivation for starting Project Euler, and its continuation, is to provide a platform for the inquiring mind to delve into unfamiliar areas and learn new concepts in a fun and recreational context.”

The problems look fairly challenging (at least, challenging in R, which of course is my programming language of choice, I mean c’mon), but at least it will give me a good excuse to practice!

Edit: hahaha, I’ve done like five of them already. But the rest look super hard!

Canadian Mall – Installment 19: Sunridge Mall (The Actual Mall This Time)

Hola!

So I went east again today for my walk and this time actually went INSIDE Sunridge Mall instead of walking around the outside of it and visiting the neighboring business. So here we go!

Mileage from home to mall (one way):
image(12)

Pros:

  • It’s a pretty big mall but wasn’t too crowded.
  • Lots of different clothing stores (including H&M!).
  • There was a massage place (can’t remember the name) that offered “water massages.” These apparently entail getting naked and sitting in a tanning booth-type thing in order to get pummeled by water jets. Sounds interesting.
  • Lots of different shoe stores, too. I’m not much of a shoe person, but I might end up going here to get boots at some point. THE SNOW IS COMING.
  • Got kids (or like toys)? Giant Toys ‘R’ Us.

Cons:

  • It is REALLY not easy to get here via walking, at least from my location in the city. It’s not a direct shot and you have to go through a bunch of industrial stuff to get there.
  • All the women’s bathrooms, except for one, were out of order.
  • There was a surplus of very young children there. I don’t know if they all mass-escaped from the Toys ‘R’ Us or what, but OH MY GOD. If your child can’t walk on his or her own yet, it’s probably not a good idea to let them loose in a mall.

Done!

Best Part of the Year

GUYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYZ IT’S SCHEDULE TIIIIIIIIIIIME!

Hi.

Okay, so…good news! I don’t have to take Stochastic Methods: U of C Version! I get to take two classes I REALLY am excited for!

Next semester’s classes include:

STAT 517: Practice of Statistics
This is technically for senior undergrads, but we can take up to two 500-level courses as grad students and have them count. This one is taught by my supervisor, Dr. Chen, and he recommended I take it, so there ya go. Apparently this is like a “real world stats” class intended for students going out into the work force as statisticians. Says the official description: “The emphasis is on how to address real world scientific and social issues by applying the various statistical methods acquired in the earlier years in a unified and appropriate way. This involves method selection, data handling, statistical computing, consulting, report writing and oral presentation, team work, and ethics.” Apart from the teamwork aspect, YAY.

STAT 621B: Research Seminar
This is a year-long course, so I’m already in it and know what it involves. It’s actually a cross-listed seminar required for all the statistics, pure math, and applied math students, and we all have to give a talk on a research topic of interest. This semester all the math people are going and it’s actually been really interesting stuff so far. I can’t wait ‘till I get to tell them about MEASURING MODEL FIT!

STAT 625: Multivariate Analysis
I’ve had like forty* multivariate analysis classes, but according to Dr. Chen, this one will focus more on the theoretical side rather than the applied side. Which will be super cool. If we get to do factor analysis, I’m going to pee my pants from joy.

ALSO:
U of I schedule is out!!!! Time to make my fake schedule for Spring 2015:

MWF
MATH 386: Theory of Numbers (9:30 – 10:20)
HIST 350: The Age of Enlightenment (11:30 – 12:20)
STAT 516: Applied Regression Modeling (12:30 – 1:20)
MUSA 317: University Chorus (2:30 – 3:20)

MW
ENGL 492: Advanced Fiction Writing (5:00 – 6:20) (I don’t care that I’ve already taken this)

TH
ART 241: Sculpture 1 (8:30 – 11:20)
PHIL 325: Existentialism (12:30 – 1:45)

Why does UI start offering the badass classes AS SOON AS I LEAVE? A lot of other good ones overlapped with these though (Concert Band, for one, which is why I’ve got University Chorus on there. I haven’t sung since elementary school but WHO’S GONNA STOP ME?!), so it would be hard to do this for real.

*Two. I’ve had two multivariate analysis classes.

F(l)ail

(This was supposed to be yesterday’s blog, but in the wake of the Ottawa incident, I decided to delay it until today)

The bad: So that midterm I had last Friday? 19/30.

The “good”: The class average on that midterm I had last Friday? 15/30. All the people I study with got 14s. The obscenely smart 2nd year guy got like a 25. A few people got a “see me” written on their tests by the prof (not sure who, though).

Seriously, a 19 out of 30 BLOWS HEAVY METAL DICKS, but I probably would have gotten a higher grade had I actually finished (I accidentally screwed up on one question and had to go back and correct a bunch of math and lost a lot of time), so there’s that. Also, a 19/30 is a 63%, which is actually a high C here. Also also, this midterm (and the next one) are each only worth 20% of our grade.

So I’m certainly not proud, but I’m not in panic mode (yet).

Edit: I talked to my supervisor (who teaches the class, haha), and he said my grade was actually one of the highest ones and told me not to panic. He said some people got 7s and 8s.

So yeah.

Happenings

So I didn’t hear about what was going on in Ottawa today until a fellow student came in my office and said that there was a gunman in Parliament and they didn’t know who was alive and who was dead, including the Prime Minister.

So I go to cnn.com and sure enough

I don’t know how much of this reached those of you in the States, but the gunman was killed inside Parliament and no government officials were harmed. A soldier standing on guard at the war memorial was shot (multiple times?) and has died of his injuries. Now the government/police officials are telling soldiers across the country to not wear their uniforms for the time being, as it is unknown if the gunman acted alone and it is suspected that all soldiers are targets for similar attacks. I’ve heard a few people say that they even shut down all the airports for a bit (not sure if that’s true, though).

Pretty scary, man. You don’t expect this type of thing in Canada. When Zack came to my office to tell me about this, I actually had to clarify if he was talking about the Canadian capital or Washington, D.C. (he didn’t say “Parliament”, just “the Capital”). It sounds like the whole country is really shocked.

Edit: read about Cpl. Nathan Cirillo, the soldier who was killed at the war memorial.

 

An Exploration of Crossword Puzzles (or, “How to Give Yourself Carpal Tunnel Syndrome in One Hour”)

Intro

Today I’m going to talk about a data analysis that I’ve wanted to do for at least three years now but have just finally gotten around to implementing it.

EXCITED?!
(Don’t be, it’s pretty boring.)

Everybody knows what a crossword puzzle looks like, right? It’s a square grid of cells, and for each cell, it’s either blank, indicating that there will be a letter placed there at some point, or solid black, indicating no letter placement.

Riveting stuff so far!!!!!

Anyway, a few years back I got the idea that it would be interesting to examine a bunch of crossword puzzles and see what cells were more prone to be blacked out and what cells were more prone to being “letter” cells. So that’s what I finally got around to doing today!

Data and Data Collection

Due to not having a physical book of crossword puzzles at hand, I picked my sample of crosswords from Boatload Puzzles. Each puzzle I chose was 13 x 13 cells, and I decided on a sample size of n = 50 puzzles.

For each crossword puzzle, I created a 13 x 13 matrix of numbers. For any given cell, it was given the number 1 if it was a cell in which you could write a letter and the number 2* if it was a blacked out cell. I made an Excel sheet that matched the size/dimensions of the crossword puzzle and entered my data that way. I utilized the super-handy program Peek Through, which allowed me to actually overlay the Excel spreadsheet and see through it so I could type the numbers accurately. Screenshot:

jkkj

Again, I did this for 50 crossword puzzles total, making a master 650 x 13 matrix of data. Considering I collected all the data in about an hour, my wrists were not happy.

Method and Analysis

To analyze the data, what I wanted to do was to create a single 13 x 13 matrix that would contain the “counts” for each cell. For example, for the first cell in the first column, this new matrix would display how many crosswords out of the 50 sampled for which this first cell was a cell in which you could write a letter. I recoded the data so that letter cells continued to be labeled with a 1, but blacked-out cells were labeled with a zero.

I wrote the following code in R to take my data, run it through a few loops, extract the individual cell counts across all 50 matrices, and store them as sums in the final 13 x 13 matrix.

x=read.table('clipboard', header = F)

#converts 2's into 0's for black spaces; leaves 1's alone
for (y in 1:650) {
  for (z in 1:13){
    if (x[y,z] == 2) {
       x[y,z] = 0
 }}}

attach(x)  #new x with recoded 0's and 1's

n = (as.matrix(dim(x))[1,])/13  #gives number of puzzles in dataset
bigx = matrix(rep(NaN, 169), nrow = 13, ncol = 13) #big matrix for sums

hold=rep(NaN, n) #create blank "hold" vector

for (r in 1:13) {
  for (k in 1:13) {
    hold = rep(NaN, n) #clear "hold" from previous loop
      for (i in 0:n) {
        if (i < n) {
        hold[i+1] = x[(i*13)+r,k] #every first entry in first row
    }}
    bigx[r,k] = sum(hold) #fill (r,k)th cell with # of white spaces
  }}

Then I made a picture!

library(gplots)
ax = c(1:13)
ay = c(13:1)
par(pty = "s")
image(x = 1:13, y = 1:13, z = bigx, col = colorpanel((50-25), "black", "white"), 
 axes = FALSE, frame.plot = TRUE, 
 main = "Letter vs. Non-Letter Cells in 50 13x13 Crossword Puzzles", 
 xlab = "Column", ylab = "Row")
axis(1, 1:13, labels = ax, las = 1)
axis(2, 1:13, labels = ay, las = 2)
box()

#optional gridlines
divs = seq(.5,13.5,by=1)
abline(h=divs)
abline(v=divs)

pon

The darker a cell is, the more frequently it is a blacked out cell across those 50 sample crosswords; the lighter a cell is, the more frequently it is a cell in which you write a letter.

And while it’s not super appropriate here (since we’ve got discrete values, not continuous ones), the filled contour version is, in my opinion, much prettier:

library(gplots)
filled.contour(bigx, frame.plot = FALSE, plot.axes = {}, 
col = colorpanel((max(bigx)-min(bigx))*2, "black", "white"))

sfd

Note that the key goes from 25 to 50–those numbers represent the number of crosswords out of 50 for which a given cell was a cell that could be filled with a letter.

Comments

It’s so symmetric!! Actually, when I was testing the code to see if it was actually doing what I wanted it to be doing, I did so using a sample of only 10 crosswords. The symmetry was much less prominent then, which leads me to wonder that if I increased n, would we eventually get to the point where the plot would look perfectly symmetric?

Also: I think it would be interesting to do this for crosswords of different difficulty (all the ones on Boatload Puzzles were about the same difficulty, or at least weren’t labeled as different difficulties) or for crosswords from different sources. Maybe puzzles from the NYT have a different average layout than the puzzles from the Argonaut.

WOO!

 

*I chose 1 and 2 for convenience; I was doing most of this on my laptop and didn’t want to reach across from 1 to 0 when entering the data. As you see in the code, I just made it so the 2’s were changed to 0’s.

Claudia’s Miscellaneous Blog of Blogging and Miscellany (mostly internet stuff)

Hello reader(s)!

I was on campus from 7 until about 5:45 today, so all I wanted to do was screw around on the internet tonight. Hence, you get yet another craptastic blog! I doubt you’re surprised. BUT…I’ll change it up a bit and give it to you in numbered parts, how about that?

PART ONE: Vines!

BAnanaNA!

PART TWO: USA
The last time I played GeoGuessr (a looong time ago), they just had the world map and I could guess with moderate accuracy.
But now they’ve got a United States map (among other specific maps) and I’m MUCH better at that.

jjj

PART THREE: YATTA!
I totally forgot to post Irrational Exuberance that day I posted all those early-2000’s videos.

OHIO!!!!

PART FOUR: JAPANESE HISTORY
Massive crab. Massive damage. (Sean showed me this like six years ago and for whatever reason it was brought to my mind again today)

PART FIVE: FartParty McGee
I REALLY want to draw, but I can’t think of a good enough idea.

THE END!

Do my crappy posts get you down? Don’t despair! I have a “serious” post I’m working on that I’ll probably post soon. Lucky you!

TUKEY TUKEY BO BUKEY BANANA-FANA FO FUKEY ME MI MO MUKEY…TUKEY!

I had a migraine earlier but now I’m hyper as hell.

I haven’t walked more than like four miles in two days, and I feel like GARBAGE. My long walks are necessary for my sanity, yo. I can fantasize AND be (sorta) productive.

Now, have some 99 Red Balloons played with…red balloons. His facial expressions are great.