Stop blaming it on the bossa nova. The poor guy just wants some friends.

No Canadian Mall installment today, ‘cause the majority of the day was spent driving to EDMONTON with the rest of the new stats grad students.

It was pretty meh. You can tell that the city’s waaaay older than Calgary. Same thing with the university, which reminded me of UI except it was like 20 times bigger. It’s also flatter than hell up there. We drove down one hill and got all excited for the change in elevation.

Also this:

image(7)

The ride back was spent listing super nitpicky reasons why Calgary > Edmonton (examples: “Edmonton’s buses are ugly!”, “WE have a bridge that lights up, too!”, “OUR sunset is better!”, etc.)

Also, you’d think stats grad students would have high enough spatial skills (or memory) to recall where we parked the rental van.

Or how to get back out of Edmonton and onto the highway.

Nope.

A List of Things I’m Good At:

  1. Nothing.

In other news: Mammatus clouds!

image(10)

image(9)\

image(8)

We be gettin’ the Chinook winds, which explains why it’s so freakishly warm today.

 

Book Review: Cyrano de Bergerac (Rostand)

Have I read this before: A looooooong time ago, yes. I can’t even remember when.

Review: Ah, Cyrano. Gotta love him. This play has always seemed like Voltaire meets Beckett as far as its style and wit go.

Also, did you know there was a real Cyrano? He was a French playwright and duelist (apparently those things went hand in hand quite frequently in 1600s France) who did in fact have a big nose, but not nearly as big as fictional Cyrano’s. Real Cyrano did in fact fight in the Thirty Years’ War and there was a Christian fighting alongside him (who did marry Cyrano’s cousin), though the details of that relationship don’t resemble those in Rostand’s play.

Edit: hahaha, oh my god, I really want to read Real Cyrano’s play, L’Autre Monde: ou les États et Empires de la Lune (Comical History of the States and Empires of the Moon). According to Wiki, “Cyrano travels to the moon using rockets powered by firecrackers and meets the inhabitants. The moon-men have four legs, musical voices, and firearms that shoot game and cook it.” That sounds FANTASTIC.

(Edit 2: Okay, yeah, this was more of a review of Real Cyrano than the play. But the play is good. Read it.)

Favorite part: Christian’s complete lack of wit is pretty great.

(This is after Cyrano had been feeding eloquent lines to Christian, who spoke them up to Roxane from down below her window. Eventually, Christian thinks he can speak for himself and tells Cyrano to beat it.)

Roxane:
Is that you, Christian? Let us stay
Here, in the twilight.
They are gone.
The air
Is fragrant.
We shall be alone. Sit down

There—so…
Now tell me things.

Christian:
I love you.

Roxane:
Speak to me about love…

Christian:
I love you.

Roxane:
Now
Be eloquent! …

Christian:
I love—

Roxane:
You have your theme—
Improvise!
Rhapsodize!

Christian:
I love you so!

Roxane:
Of course.
And then? …

Christian:
And then…oh, I should be
So happy if you loved me too! Roxane,
Say that you love me too!

Roxane:
I ask for cream
You give me milk and water. Tell me first
A little, how you love me.

Christian:
Very much.

(This goes on for like another two pages, it’s great.)

Rating: 7/10

I Write Tragedies, not Sins. OH WAIT THAT’S WRONG—

START BLOG!

Finally updated my “About” page to reflect the changes that have occurred over the past few months.

Uh, yeah.

Also, I basically condensed 23 complete pages of notes onto 1 side of a 8.5”x11” sheet of paper for my midterm, ‘cause of my MINISCULE HANDWRITING!

image(11)

I always like it when professors allow “cheat sheets” on exams, mainly because by the time I’ve made the final version, I’ve written everything down so many times that I don’t even need the sheet on the test.

Which is probably half the point of making a cheat sheet anyway.

END BLOG!

HAVE SOME POOP

YouTube poop, that is.

I love YouTube poop and you can’t stop me. It’s an art form.

Singe-Worthy

Okay, I’m sure you’re all probably sick of hearing about my Canadian adventures by now, but I have to blog about this ‘cause it’s pretty great.

So awhile back (2012), a statue called the Wishing Well was installed in front of the Genesis Centre here in Calgary. The statue is a giant reflective bugger that looks like this (pic source):

df

Not too bad, eh?

Well, apparently the $559,000 (!!) statue had to be removed recently, as its reflective powers of doom burned a hole in a dude’s jacket. The incident actually happened last year, prompting city officials to put a blue fence around the statue (which had actually been built for people to interact with it by going inside it and making noises). Since the jacket incident, officials (and the artist) have tried to prevent another singe by angling the sculpture, hammering it, and dulling the interior. But since nothing has worked, they finally decided to remove it entirely.

Okay. Now fast-forward to this weekend. On Saturday morning there was a huge underground electrical fire downtown which knocked out power to about 17 blocks of condos, apartments, and businesses in the nearby area (not where I live). I went to read Mayor Nenshi’s tweets about the fire and its possible cause and saw this tweet from someone else:

jhjh

Hahahaha. Best comment ever.

“Bambi…I didn’t know you could fly!”

Pretend for a second that you have no idea what a bird is. You know what beaks, feathers, wings, etc. are, but you don’t know what a bird is.
Now read the following:

Birds (class Aves or clade Avialae) are feathered, winged, two-legged, warm-blooded, egg-laying vertebrates.

Modern birds are characterised by feathers, a beak with no teeth, the laying of hard-shelled eggs, a high metabolic rate, a four-chambered heart, and a lightweight but strong skeleton. Extant birds have more or less developed wings; the most recent species without wings was the moa, which is generally considered to have become extinct in the 16th century. Wings are evolved forelimbs, and most bird species can fly.

Birds are social, communicating with visual signals, calls, and songs, and participating in such social behaviours as cooperative breeding and hunting, flocking, and mobbing of predators.

These are all from Wiki’s page on birds. You can’t tell me that from these descriptors that birds don’t sound fucking terrifying.

TOOTHLESS-BEAKED PREDATOR-MOBBING DEATH-BOMBS FROM ABOVE!

Okay, I’m done. Back to studying.

Canadian Mall – Installment 18: North Hill Centre

HELLO FOOLS!

Today I walked to North Hill Centre, a small little mall on 16th Avenue, sorta by SAIT.

Mileage from home to mall (one way):
image(4)

Pros:

  • Close to home. Takes about a half hour to get there.
  • It’s small. Kinda cozy. It’s like the Palouse Mall sawed in half.
  • There’s a WIG SHOP!
  • The C-Train runs right behind it.
  • There’s a moderate-sized branch of the public library behind it.
  • There’s a store in there called Alchemy Apparel which sells all this funky pop culture stuff. Looks interesting.

Cons:

  • Not a whole ton of variety if you’re looking for that.
  • I put this in the “pros” list but I guess it could be a “con” as well: it’s small. If you like to walk the mall, you’d be done in like 4 minutes.
  • I was there like half an hour before it closed on the Saturday before Thanksgiving, but I would guess that it gets a lot of C-Train traffic during peak hours.

And yeah, I know it was only like 2 miles from home; I made up for that by walking to campus, then going back to 14th street, walking up to 64th Avenue, over to Centre St., then home. 16 mile loop!

Claudia the Bad Blogger Gives You YouTube Instead of Actual Content

Let’s bring back some circa early 2000’s internet, shall we?

Yay!

(Sorry, it’s been a crappy day)

Book Review: The Hunchback of Notre Dame (Hugo)

Victor Hugo party central! Let’s do it.

Have I read this before: Way back in junior high. I actually think this might have been one of the first books on my list I read. Not the first first, but one of them.

Review: This story is intense, yo. Some of these reviews are hard ‘cause I was a Disney kid and thus always have the Disney versions in the back of my head somewhere. I don’t remember a freaking word of this from when I read it before, but I was actually surprised at some of the things that Disney kept almost directly from the story. Like Quasi holding Esmeralda up and yelling “sanctuary!” once he swung her into Notre Dame. And Quasi throwing rocks at and dumping molten metal on the dudes trying to break into the cathedral (granted, in Disney Movie Land they weren’t the tramps but the Frollo Army, but still). AND Frollo’s death.

I still feel bad for Frollo, man. I know he’s the “bad guy” and he’s creepy as hell at some parts of the novel, but Hugo does portray his torment as real and believable. The fact that he’s also shown as displaying quite a bit of compassion at parts makes him even more believable.

Favorite part: I feel weird saying this, especially since there are some super disturbing and sobering moments in this book, but parts of Hunchback are pretty hilarious. Oh my god.

  • The deaf judge trying to interrogate the deaf Quasimodo. “Now, here was a case that the law had not provided for—the deaf interrogating the deaf.” The consequences of this scene were pretty bad, but the scene itself is freaking great.
  • “Having reached the pillar gallery, he [Jehan] stood puffing for a moment then swore at the endless stairs by I don’t know how many million cartloads of devils.”
  • Captain Phoebus can’t get Esmeralda’s name right. He calls her “Similar” for like three pages.
  • “The thunderbolts of god are not hurled against a lettuce!”

Rating: 7.5/10

Walk the Walk

So I’ve been here a month now* and I’ve walked 231.4 miles around the city (488,593 steps).

Plot of walks over the last 30 days!

1

I think my goal shall be at least 50 miles per week. Not sure how that will go, especially once I get busier at school (and once the temperature dives), but we’ll see.

YAY BIG CITIES!

*I’m not counting the first week, from September 1st to the 7th. That week sucked and I’m treating it as if it never happened. So there.

More Canada Stuff

Here are some results from the 2011 Canadian Federal Election regarding some important issues. These are somewhat old data, but it’s all still interesting. Here are a few:

1
Man, B.C. is like “screw the US.” Meanwhile, Quebec’s over there whispering, “save us!

2
Looks like most of Canada’s gun-ho! Get it??

3
This one surprises me. I’d think the Prairie Provinces would be all for the weed since there’s nothing else to do in the middle of flatland.

4
Quebec.

5
Quebec
.

6

7
Alberta’s like, “Carbon tax? For what? What oil sands? What environmental damage? EVERYTHING’S FINE.”

Interesting stuff.

I want sooooooooooooooocks!

Actually, I don’t want them…this time I need them; all the pairs I currently have are hella holey.

Here are my current faves on Sock Dreams. They have some really awesome ones out right now, so in case you’re as into socks as I am, get over there and get yo’ free (and super fast) shipping!

Put a Bridge on It

1

Toe-Tal Recall (holy hell these are badass)

2

Planets

3

Color Blocks (are these “Claudia socks” or what?)

4

Constellation

5

Cityscape

6

Have a survey. Hell, have three surveys. (Spoiler: it’s just one survey.)

What is your zodiac sign?
Aquarius!

What is your favorite color?
Orange!

What’s your lucky number?
I don’t know if I have a particularly lucky number, but I tend to have a rather high occurrence of double and sometimes triple repeat numbers in my life—things like 22, 88, 111, etc.

What talents do you have?
Making up songs on the fly, getting R to do what I want it to do, being annoying.

Are you psychic in any way?
Nopers. Though my 2010 NaNo about Google had some freakishly accurate predictions in it.

Favorite song?
I don’t know if I have a favorite favorite song anymore. The one currently topping the playcounts is Jealous (I Ain’t With It) by Chromeo. Doin’ It Right is still my jam, though.

How many pillows do you sleep with?
Two. But half the time the one on the bottom ends up on the floor. Not quite sure how I manage that.

What position do you usually sleep in?
I usually go to sleep on my side but wake up on my back/on the floor/burritoed in the sheet.

Have you ever tried archery?
MARK NUTT!!!!!!!
(Yes, we had to for junior high P.E.)

What’s the longest you’ve ever gone without sleep?
Long enough where counting the hours didn’t even matter.

Do you have any scars?
Many, many scars.

Have you ever had a secret admirer?
OMG STORY TIME okay so one Valentine’s day in high school we were all in the common area milling around in between classes. All of a sudden I see this pack of those chalky candy hearts come flying towards my head. I duck ‘cause I figure they’re for someone else, but then one of my friends picks them up, looks at them, and gives them to me. They have my name written on them (I was the only Claudia at our high school) and they say they’re from “Nekko Nikky.” I never found out who that was.

tl;dr: probably not.

Can you do any other accents other than your own?
It’s not an accent per se, but I can laugh/talk like Barney Rubble (don’t ask how I figured that out). I can also sound like that Russian space station guy from Armageddon. And the turrets from Portal.

Are you a good judge of character?
HA, no. Clearly I am not.

Can you curl your tongue?
Yup.

Are you a clean or messy person?
Everything is either immaculate or tornado aftermath-level messy. No in between.

How long does it take for you to get ready?
Like, get ready to leave in the morning? 15 minutes maybe.

Do you have much of an ego?
BAH.

Do you talk to yourself?
There’s not many other people who talk to me, so yeah.

Do you sing to yourself?
Bitch, I sing out loud.

Can you name all 50 states of America?
LET’S SEE IF I CAN!
Alaska, Arizona, Alabama, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, Oregon, Oklahoma, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, South Carolina, North Dakota, North Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming, Massachusetts, Maryland, Arkansas, Michigan, Indiana, Louisiana, Minnesota!

I think that’s all of them. Can I do the provinces/territories too?
British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, Newfoundland & Labrador, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, Northwest Territories, Yukon, Nunavut!

Have you ever been scuba diving?
Nope.

What makes you nervous?
Almost everything.

Do you correct people when they make mistakes?
Depends on the person, mistake, and how much the mistake matters.

Are you ticklish?
Don’t touch me.

Have you ever been in a position of authority?
I was a stats lecturer! Sometimes they called me professor. It was awesome. I miss it.

How many piercings do you have?
Four.

Can you roll your Rs?
Yup.

How fast can you type?
In the range of 110 WPM.

What are you allergic to?
One of the trees in the UI arboretum (not sure which one; whichever was closest to our back yard when we lived up that way). Asthmacort, an asthma medication I was (very briefly) on because I had super bad pleurisy and I couldn’t breathe. They took me off of it once they realized it made it HARDER FOR ME TO BREATHE.

Do you keep a journal?
Does my blog count?

Do you like your age?
Not really. 26 is pretty meaningless. 25 is the square of 5 and 27 is the cube of 3, but 26 is like the fart of numbers.

What makes you angry?
Don’t even get me started! I’m good at rage.

Were your ancestors royalty?
Hahaha, oh yeah, totally.

Canadian Mall – Installment 17: Sunridge Mall (Peripheral Stores)

I reiterate from my Market Mall post two weeks ago: Calgary is NOT flat.

Today I took a super roundabout route and went east to Sunridge Mall. Okay, I actually didn’t go in the mall. By the time I got there I had absolutely no desire to deal with crowds of people, so I just hung out in/around the peripheral stores instead. So I shall review them!

Mileage from home to mall (one way):

image(7)

Pros:

  • A massive Real Canadian Superstore. Even bigger than the one on Marine Drive in Vancouver.
  • A Real Canadian Liquorstore (I am not even kidding, that’s what they’re called)
  • BULK BAAAAAAAAAAARN!
  • A huge Value Village, which is like Goodwill on crack.

Cons:

  • Calgary! Why u no have consistent sidewalks on your main avenues?
  • Value Village prices are like Goodwill prices + $5. But a pack of off-brand shredded cheese at WalMart is like $8, so I guess I shouldn’t be surprised.
  • The Bulk Barn is a tiny little thing. Plus it was closed by the time I got there.

Plotting

Aalskdfsdlhfgdsgh, this is super cool.

Today in probability we were talking about the binary expansion of decimal fractions—in particular, those in the interval [0,1).

Q: WTF is the binary expansion of a decimal fraction?

A: If you know about binary in general, you know that to convert a decimal number like 350 to binary, you have to convert it to 0’s and 1’s based on a base-2 system (20, 21, 22, 23, 24, …). So 350 = 28 + (0*27) + 26 + (0*25) + 24 + 23 + 22 + 21 + (0*20) = 101011110 (1’s for all the “used” 2k’s and 0’s for all the “unused” 2k’s).

It’s the same thing for fractions, except now the 2k’s are 2-k‘s: 1/21, 1/22, 1/23, …).

So let’s take 5/8 as an example fraction we wish to convert to binary. 5/8 = 1/21 + (0*1/22) + 1/23, so in binary, 5/8 = 101. Easy!*

So we used this idea of binary expansion to talk about the Strong Law of Large Numbers for the continuous case (rather than the discrete case, which we’d talked about last week), but then we did the following:

1

where x = 0.x1 x2 x3 x4… is the unique binary expansion of x containing an infinite number of zeros.

Dr. Chen asked us to, as an exercise, plot γ1(x), γ2(x), and γ3(x) for all x in [0,1). That is, plot what the first, second, and third binary values look like (using the indicator function above) for all decimal fractions in [0,1).

We could do this by hand (it wasn’t something we had to turn in), but I’m obsessive and weird, so I decided to write some R code to do it for me (and to confirm what I got by hand)!

Code:

x = seq(0, 1, by = .0001)
x = sort(x)
n = length(x)
y = matrix(NaN, n)
z = matrix(NaN, n)
bi = matrix(NaN, n, nrow=n, ncol=3)

for (i in 1:n) {
   pos1 = trunc(x[i]*2) 
   if (pos1 == 0) {
      bi[i,1] = 1
      y[i] = x[i]*2
      }
   else if (pos1 == 1) {
      bi[i,1] = -1
      y[i] = -1*(1-(x[i]*2))
      }
   pos2 = trunc(y[i]*2)
   if (pos2 == 0) {
      bi[i,2] = 1
      z[i] = y[i]*2
      }
   else if (pos2 == 1) {
      bi[i,2] = -1
      z[i] = -1*(1-(y[i]*2))
      }
   pos3 = trunc(z[i]*2)
   if (pos3 == 0) {
      bi[i,3] = 1
      }
   else if (pos3 == 1) {
      bi[i,3] = -1
      }
   }

bin = cbind(x,bi)
bin = as.matrix(bin)
plot(bin[,1],bin[,2],  type = 'p', col = 'black', lwd = 7, 
     ylim = c(-1, 1), xlim = c(0, 1), xlab = "Value", 
     ylab = "Indicator Value", 
     main = "Indicator Value vs. Value on [0,1) Interval")
lines(bin[,1],bin[,3], type='p', lwd = 4, col='green')
lines(bin[,1],bin[,4], type='p', lwd = .25, col='red')

Results:

2

(black is 1/2, green is 1/4, red is 1/8)

I tried to make the plot readable so that you could see the overlaps. Not sure if it works.

Makes sense, though. Until you get to ½, you can’t have a 1 in that first expansion place, since 1 represents the value 1/21. Once you get past ½, you need that 1 in the first expansion place. Same things with 1/22 and 1/23.

SUPER COOL!

(I love R.)

*Note that this binary expression is not unique. All the work we did in class was done under the assumption that we were using the expressions that had an infinite number of zeroes rather than an infinite number of ones.

Annabelle (not the movie)

It’s my kitty’s birthday today!

Since she’s all the way back in Moscow and I miss her, I shall spam you with photos. ‘Cause why not.

013 036 039 Annabelle9 Annabelle12

Um…can we call this the October List?

Did you know Bill Pullman has anosmia? I didn’t!

Anyway.

I have nothing interesting to say (do I ever?) so this post is going to be just a bunch of random crapola.

  • Here’s an awesome list of some of the vault backstories in Fallout 3. Vault 106 legit creeped me out when I went in there the first time.
  • I was going through the old photos on my camera and I found this picture of a pinecone smoking a cigarette.

019

Bad pinecone!

  • The news is so snarky here. Prime Minister Stephen Harper was not planning on attending that Climate Change Summit held a week or so ago. A day or so after I was watching the news and the little ticker said something like, “President Obama spoke at the Climate Change Summit for all concerned Americans…and apparently had to for all concerned Canadians as well.” Also, this:

ert

  • I’m watching Spaceballs. Because Spaceballs.
  • A handy-dandy Wiki guide of Greek letters used in math, science, and engineering.
  • I don’t know if I’ve ever posted this on here, but it’s definitely my favorite little clip of the AH boys “working.”

YAY!

Hahaha

I like U of C’s math/stats department already:

image(6)

C-to-the-hebyshev

We’ve been using Chebyshev’s Inequality quite a bit in both of my classes, and this morning I realized that I have yet to figure out more about Chebyshev and then annoy you all with a blog post about him.

‘Cause, you know, that’s just what I do.

Pafnuty Lvovich Chebyshev, who has at least eight correct transliterations of his last name, was a Russian mathematician born in 1821. He was one of nine children and, due to a stunted leg, spent a hell of a lot of time studying as a boy. He pretty much did math from the get-go, eventually becoming a professor and mentoring, among other people, Andrey Markov.

Chebyshev is probably most famous for the above-mentioned Chebyshev’s Inequality, which states that for a random variable X with standard deviation sigma, the probability that the outcome of X is no less than a*sigma standard deviations away from the mean is no more than 1/a2. The Inequality is used in the proof of the Weak Law of Large Numbers (which we proved at the start of our probability class here!).

Chebyshev is considered a founder of Russian mathematics and won the Demodov Prize, a prestigious scientific prize awarded to members of the Russian Academy of Sciences, in 1849. He died in St. Petersburg in 1894.

Protected: BREAKING NEWS:

This content is password-protected. To view it, please enter the password below.

Canadian Mall – Installment 16: Deerfoot Mall

Today I didn’t feel much like walking, so I just went north to Deerfoot Mall, a mall I’ve been to a few times but never on a Saturday. But now it’s officially my most recent Canadian Mall destination!

Mileage from home to mall (one way):

image(5)

Pros:

  • I like the walking route to get here.
  • There’s a big-ass WalMart behind the mall itself. Good for broccoli when they have it in stock.
  • The mall never seems too crowded.
  • There’s a pretty diverse selection at the food court if you’re into mall food.

Cons:

  • The big-ass WalMart NEVER HAS BROCCOLI IN STOCK.
  • There aren’t any super interesting (at least to me) stores IN the mall itself.
  • Uh…no other cons come to mind, actually.

DONE! Time for Red Bull.

I’ve got Macho Man stuck in my head MAKE IT STOP

While I was waiting for the bus this morning, this lady who’d seen me on campus yesterday (“you dress like an art student”) started talking to me because the bus was like 10 minutes late and there was nothing else to do.

I was telling her that I’d only been in Calgary for a few weeks and she starts raving about Nenshi and how he’s such a great mayor and how practically everyone loves him. It was awesome. I hope I get to meet him while I’m up here! Wonder if they need a statistician at City Hall…

Anyway, have some Nenshi awesomeness (mostly tweets), courtesy of Tumblr.

tumblr_mlgvf812jq1qiwia4o2_500

tumblr_mlgvf812jq1qiwia4o1_500

tumblr_mlgvf812jq1qiwia4o3_500

tumblr_mmwyaea5Lh1rpcyrmo1_400

tumblr_lr22842kJ41qghf3go1_500

(His shirt says “Straight, Not Narrow” in case you can’t read it. He was the first mayor to lead the city’s Pride Parade)

tumblr_mpbksgWEq01qbyks7o1_500

tumblr_n1ohikq1zB1rmvwsdo1_500

 

The Selfie of xXxDorianGray2000xXx

I’ve mentioned a few times recently that I planned on getting a smartphone once I got up here. I haven’t yet for reasons I don’t want to get into (loooong story), but every time I’ve mentioned getting a smart phone, I’ve implied that it was going to be an iPhone.*

NOT ANYMORE.

I was watching the news last night and they announced that Blackberry (which is apparently a Canadian company…did not know that) is coming out with a unique new smart phone called the Blackberry Passport. It looks like this (source):

blackberry-passport-review-1677

It’s called a Passport because it’s almost exactly the same size as a passport—a feature that’s either getting praised or slammed, depending on who’s reviewing the specs of the phone.

It’s got a physical keyboard that also responds to swiping/scrolling and the unique size allows for a square screen and more reading room than a “normal” smart phone. It also supposedly has a super long battery life.

It’s being marketed mainly to businesspeople/CEO-types, but even still, a lot of reviewers are wondering if it’s “clunky” size will be a turn-off for a lot of people.

Personally, I think it’s REALLY FREAKING COOL. It’s definitely unique, weird, and not for everyone.

My type of phone.

And yes, I know I don’t need a smart phone—in fact, a smart phone would probably be bad for me. But it would be nice to be able to check my email without lugging out Vaio.** Also, if I ever get lost on one of my walks, I would feel better having easy access to the internet to look up directions/find a bus route if necessary, rather than relying on my iPod picking up some store’s wifi.

*An iPhone 4, specifically. They’re free with a plan now, plus I like the shape of the 4 better than the 5.
**Haha, the fact that using a laptop is no longer the most convenient way of accessing the internet now is both awesome and scary.

Do auditioning court jesters have to provide a portFOOLio?

Hey so remember that Advanced Global Personality Test I take like twice a year?

Remember how I keep forgetting to do that twice a year?

WELL I DID IT NOW NOT THAT ANYBODY CARES HURHURHUR.

sds

Trait snapshot (bold ones are ones I agree with): neat freak, organized, worrying, phobic, fears the unknown, irritable, pessimistic, emotionally sensitive, fears chaos, risk averse, fragile, unadventurous, depressed, frequently second guesses self, does not like to stand out, perfectionist, hard working, likes to be alone, clingy, dependent, practical, cautious, takes precautions, good at saving money, suspicious, busy, altruistic