Oh, Garfield…

Oops, I just rediscovered Garkov, a Markov-chain-based Garfield comic strip generator.

4 5 a b c

Fantastic.

I’ve also, upon rediscovering Garkov, rediscovered Lasagna Cat. All you need to know about Lasagna Cat can be summed up in three words: live action Garfield.

 

 

Claudia’s Complete Undergraduate Classes: The Comprehensive List that Nobody Asked For

This was inspired by a conversation Nate and I had about the classes we’d taken in college. These are just the undergraduate ones, mainly because I’ve blocked out as much of my UBC experience as I can without physically removing part of the memory section of my brain. But I remember all these semesters!

There is absolutely no purpose for this list, other than perhaps as a reference sheet for myself when I’m old and gray and feel like reminiscing about school.

So yeah.

Fall 2006 (20 credits)

  • CORE 116 (The Sacred Journey): The only reason I took this particular core class was so that I could get that one “international” credit or whatever the hell it was for my psych degree.
  • ENGL 102 (College Writing and Rhetoric): I got to skip 101 because of my SAT scores.
  • MATH 143 (Pre-Calculus Algebra and Analytic Geometry): NO. Screw this class.
  • MUSA 119 (Marching Band): Awesome times!
  • PSYC 101 (Introduction to Psychology): I met Sean in this class! This was also my *very first* college class, since it was the first one I went to on that first day.
  • THEF 100 (Introduction to Theatre): I wrote a play for this class. It was goddamn horrible. My prof liked it though; she said it was like a weird mix between MAD TV and Chekov.
  • THEF 105 (Basics of Performance): We held this class in the combat room in the old gym. Most of our time was spent pretending to be children playing children’s games.

Spring 2007 (20 credits)

  • BIOL 102 (Biology and Society): UGH, BIOLOGY. Had to take this for the psych degree. My prof was cool, though.
  • BIOL 102 L (Biology and Society Lab): Labs are stressful.
  • CORE 166 (The Sacred Journey): Yes, this was a TWO SEMESTER THING. Blaaaah.
  • ENLG 258 (Literature of Western Civilization): This is one of the most impactful classes I ever took. It introduced me to Voltaire and philosophy and how everything across all disciplines really do connect to a certain level. I’m so glad I took this class.
  • ENGL 292 (Beginning Fiction Writing): Yay! I barely got into this class; I was on the waitlist until like the day before classes started.
  • MUSA 121 (Concert Band): Was this the he-brides semester? I think it was.
  • PSYC 310 (Psychology of Personality): Interesting class. My second one with Sean!
  • STAT 251 (Statistical Methods): I was terrified of this class. I had no idea I would be teaching it in five years’ time.

Summer 2007 (6 credits)

  • ENGL 208 (Personal and Exploratory Writing): This would have been a fun class, except for the fact that I was in a major writing slump at the end of the spring semester.
  • PSYC 499 (Directed Study): I had to read a book. That was pretty much it.

Fall 2007 (22 credits)

  • GEOG 100 (Physical Geography): I learned about clouds! This was also the first professor I had who couldn’t write tests. I think all 150+ of us failed the first one. He got better, though!
  • GEOG 100 L (Physical Geography Lab): I repeat: labs are stressful.
  • MATH 160 (Survey of Calculus): Also known as “business calculus.” Hated it. Why do you have a class like this at 8 in the morning? Where is the justice in the world?
  • MUSA 319 (Marching Band)
  • PHIL 320 (History of Ancient and Medieval Philosophy): My first philosophy class! No Leibniz yet, though.
  • PSYC 218 (Introduction to Research in the Behavioral Sciences): Dr. Bustamante. That is all.
  • PSYC 320 (Introduction to Social Psychology): This class was surprisingly difficult, believe it or not. Probably because I no longer cared about any other aspect of psych after the glory that was Tests and Measurements.
  • PSYC 430 (Tests and Measurements): YES YES YES YESYESYESYESYES. This was the class that solidified my desire to do quant psych. I would’ve married this class if I could have.

Spring 2008 (25 credits) [God, why did I do this?]

  • MUSA 321 (Concert Band)
  • PHIL 202 (Introduction to Symbolic Logic): This was a really difficult class for me at the time, but Dr. O’Rourke was awesome and helped me learn a lot.
  • PHIL 321 (History of Modern Philosophy): I discover Leibniz and the world is forever changed.
  • PSYC 305 (Developmental Psychology): Meh. I didn’t really care about this class too much.
  • PSYC 456 (Psychology of Emotion): Haha, another Sean class. We had lots of fun trying to decipher the tests.
  • PSYC 330 (Human Sexuality): Very chill and laid back, which is good for an 8:30 AM class.
  • PSYC 499 (I/O Psychology Research): My first research experience! Got to run participants and do stats.
  • STAT 401 (Statistical Analysis): I was also terrified of this class because we had to use SAS and I had no idea what that was. I still have the book we used and the topics are SO EASY now.
  • STAT 422 (Sample Survey Methods): Also terrifying. My first class with Dr. Williams, though, who is awesome.

Summer 2008 (6 credits)

  • PHIL 307 (Buddhism): This was a LOT of work over the summer, but fun.
  • PSYC 311 (Abnormal Psychology): I wish I would have taken this in a classroom setting rather than online.

Fall 2008 (22 credits)

  • MUSA 319 (Marching Band)
  • PHIL 103 (Ethics): We read Watchmen, which makes this whole class worth it.
  • PHIL 351 (Philosophy of Science): I really liked the material in this class, but was at 8 in the morning. Who can think at 8 AM? Not me!
  • PHIL 442 (Philosophy of Mind): Dr. O’Rourke! Very interesting class. Lots of heated debates.
  • PSYC 390 (Psychology of Learning): Online class. Super easy.
  • PSYC 421 (Cognitive Development): There were only like six of us in this class and the prof took a lot of pity on me because he knew I was trying to graduate early and was really stressed out about it.
  • PSYC 499 (I/O Psychology Research)
  • STAT 514 (Nonparametric Statistics): I was the only non-graduate student in this class. I think I needed more math, though.

Spring 2009 (22 credits)

  • ENGL 392 (Intermediate Fiction Writing): This class was taught by Dr. Orozco, who is super cool and really into running writing workshops.
  • MATH 330 (Linear Algebra): No.
  • MUSA 321 (Concert Band)
  • PHIL 240 (Belief and Reality): I was very fortunate that this class was offered when it was; normally it’s just offered in the fall, so I wouldn’t have been able to complete my philosophy degree if that had been the case this year.
  • PHIL 447 (Theory of Knowledge): More Dr. O’Rourke! Less debate, though.
  • PHIL 490 (Senior Seminar): This was a three-hour Thursday only class. Rough.
  • PSYC 499 (I/O Psychology Research)
  • STAT 519 (Multivariate Analysis): YAY, my introduction to R and factor analysis and PCA and all the fun things you can do with multivariate data. Dr Lee rules.

FAST FORWARD!

Fall 2012 (12 credits)

  • ENGL 293 (Beginning Nonfiction Writing): Wrote my Leibniz/Newton story in here. This was also the first class in which I made friends during my second round of undergrad.
  • MATH 170 (Calculus I): I was nervous about calculus after my business calc experience in 2007, but this class was SO MUCH BETTER. My prof was amazing.
  • MUSA 321 (Concert Band): Concert band was not the same without the old group of dorks.
  • STAT 426 (SAS Programming): I’ve forgotten pretty much everything about SAS since I use R so exclusively and so often, haha.

Spring 2013 (15 credits)

  • CS 120 (Computer Science I): Fun and useful class. I wish I had a reason to use C++ more frequently so that I don’t forget how it works.
  • ENGL 393 (Intermediate Nonfiction Writing): The class in which I finally got all the Vancouver out of my system by writing a 50-ish page story about my time there.
  • MATH 175 (Calculus II): This class was pretty rough, but also very enjoyable. I somehow managed to get a 100% on our second test, which doesn’t happen with me and math tests. Ever.
  • MATH 176 (Discrete Mathematics): My first class with Dr. Abo! This was a super interesting and not too difficult class. This was also the first class in which I was explicitly taught summation notation (though I already knew what it was, of course, ‘cause of stats).
  • MUSA 321 (Concert Band)

Summer 2013 (3 Credits)

  • MATH 275 (Calculus III): Best summer class ever. I loved multivariate calc mainly because we got to write the integral symbol so often.

Fall 2013 (13 Credits)

  • ENGL 492 (Advanced Fiction Writing): Easily my favorite writing class, partially because of my classmates and partially because I was able to write two of my best short stories in it.
  • MATH 215 (Introduction to Higher Mathematics): OH MY GOD this was a fun class. Everyone was a total freaking nerd (including our prof) and it was fantastic. I was really nervous about this one, but it was actually pretty easy.
  • MATH 330 (Linear Algebra): Yes, I took linear algebra a second time. I had to make up for that B the first time. Also, Dr. Abo taught it this time around and it was so much better and made so much more sense. It helped that half the hooligans from MATH 215 were in this class as well.
  • MUSA 321 (Concert Band)
  • STAT 451 (Probability Theory): This was quite difficult when I was in it, but looking back on the textbook and comparing it to grad school stats, it’s not that bad at all.

Spring 2014 (13 credits)

  • MATH 395 (Analysis of Algorithms): Very laid-back and interesting class. Sorting algorithms FTW!
  • MATH 420 (Complex Variables): I have such an appreciation for imaginary numbers after this class, man. It makes me feel cool.
  • MUSA 321 (Concert Band)
  • STAT 452 (Mathematical Statistics): I have no idea how I did as well in this class as I did. Luck and fear, probably.
  • STAT 453 (Stochastic Methods): This was EASILY the most difficult class I’ve ever taken (apart from Algebra II in high school, but that doesn’t count). I got a B in this class and I was just glad it wasn’t lower, let’s put it that way.

That’s 72 classes in a total of five years. That’s a good number of classes.
(Yes, I would do it all again.)

ZipZip

UUUUUUUUUUUUUUGH. Have a survey.

If a loved one was to serenade you, what song would you most like them to sing?
Dude, anything they’d like! I’ve never been serenaded to, so I’d probably just sit there and giggle like a moron regardless of what was sung.

Would you ever let your parents pick out a partner for you?
Hahaha, I read that as “would you ever let your partner pick out a partner for you” and I was like, “uhhh…”
It would be hilarious to watch my dad try to pick someone for me. I have no idea what type of person he’d choose.

Michelangelo’s David…masterpiece or filth?
Why filth? Because of stone penis? BAH.

Do you like other people buying you clothes?
Nope. No one knows quite what my style is and the sizes are usually off a bit. The thought is appreciated, but I’d rather just buy my own clothes.

What one device would you want to see added to a mobile phone?
Some sort of device that TELLS THEM HOW TO WALK LIKE A CONSIDERATE HUMAN BEING WHILE THEY’RE ON THEIR PHONE. I am so done with people who weave all over the sidewalk when they’re on their phone. If cellphone use is illegal while driving, it should be illegal when walking in my opinion.

Where do you see yourself in 10 years’ time?
Who the hell knows? Hopefully not still in school, but there’s no way I can rule that out given my history. I’d rather be teaching. (And maybe working on another degree on the side?)

Do your dreams ever tell you to do anything?
Not really. Sometimes I try to read them as little subconscious hints to do certain things if they pertain to my actual life, but there are never any explicit directions in them.

Have you ever been to an Art gallery?
Several! I like art galleries.

Do you shout out the answers at the TV whilst watching quiz shows?
I raise my voice at Jeopardy on occasion.

Are you a valuable asset on a Pub Quiz team?
Maybe? I’ve never been on one, but I’ve got my little specialty trivia/quiz categories.

If you could bankrupt one person or company who would it be?
I don’t know if I could do this without causing unwanted consequences to other people.

If you could steal one thing without consequence what would it be?
Probably something Leibniz-related. Like Leibniz. DON’T JUDGE ME.

Book Review: Madame Bovary (Flaubert)

Hey, it’s Flaubert time! LET’S DO THIS, Y’ALL. Spoilers as usual.

Have I read this before: Long, long ago, yes. This was probably the second or third book I read off of my original list, so that was likely in 7th or (at latest) 8th grade.

Review: This book is a lot sadder than I remember it being. Maybe because back in 7th grade I had basically zero concept of what a relationship really was (apart from wanting one with a certain someone, but WE WON’T GET INTO THAT) and what it meant to be in one. But this book is basically all about how miserable it can be to be in a relationship that you don’t want but can’t seem to find a way out of. Flaubert does a really excellent job of portraying the misery of Emma Bovary and how desperate she is to really try and find happiness in a relationship—whether that relationship is with her husband or not. I certainly didn’t remember the poison-induced suicide, though.

Also, I know this was written during a totally different time than today and social standards are a bit different, especially for women, but my mind was basically screaming “YOU PEOPLE NEED COMMUNICATION SKILLS” the entire time.

Favorite part: Lots of good quotes in this book, mostly about how much it sucks being unable to find happiness in a relationship.

  • Before the wedding, she had believed herself in love. But not having obtained the happiness that should have resulted from that love, she now fancied that she must have been mistaken.
  • As their [Emma and Charles, her husband] outward familiarities grew, she began to be inwardly detached, to hold herself more aloof from him.
  • And all the time, deep within her, she was waiting for something to happen. … She had no idea what that chance would be, what wind would waft it to her, where it would set her ashore…But every morning when she woke she hoped to find it there. She listened to every sound, started out of bed, and was surprised when nothing came. Then at sunset, sadder every day, she longed for the morrow.
  • (During her affair with Leon) They began to talk more of things indifferent to their love. … She would look forward to a profound happiness at next meeting, then have to admit that she felt nothing remarkable.

Rating: 7/10

OH CRAP

I’m pretty sure hell has just frozen over, as I’ve decided to go back and edit Prime some more. I was on an editing streak way back in summer of 2013, but then I stopped because I got to a rough part at the end of one chapter and I wasn’t quite sure where to go from there to get to the next chapter I’d written. And being me, I didn’t want to just skip a part and continue editing—I wanted to edit everything in order.

So I just…stopped.

But I’ve had the urge to work on that story for about a week now, and today I finally just went back and started where I’d left off. I finished editing the chapter I’d left and then continued on. Is the edit good? Not really. But it’s better than what it was, and it’s not like there won’t be more drafts of this nonsense (if I don’t just get completely sick of it and delete it off the face of the earth) in which I can make things even better.

That is, if an 80-or-so page setup for a really horrible “divide by zero” joke is even capable of being bettered.

So yeah. Prime’s still around and it’s finally going to be worked on again. Yay for everyone.

Universal

This just in: I love Steven Universe. I haven’t liked a show this much since Metalocalypse, which is kind of hilarious to say considering how completely different the two shows are.

But seriously. I really like the premise of the show and the voice acting is great. If you haven’t seen it, you’re missing out. There are quite a few episodes floating around on YouTube, so give it a shot if you’re looking for something to watch.

If you’re curious about more, read a brief review of the show here!

0-steven-universe

Also, Garnet is my favorite and is pretty much a gift to the world. You might even say she’s…a gem.

Yeah, I went there. Fight me.

Edit: there is no better use of this song than in this AMV.

Leibniz vs. 2015

On occasion (read: every day), I find myself wondering what Leibniz would think of our modern world nowadays. Like, if we were somehow to manage to bring him back to life at age 40 or so and got someone (read: me) to show him around and calm him down when all the new stuff freaked him out, I wonder what he would really think of things.

  • What would he think of modern calculators? His Stepped Reckoner weighed like 80 pounds and could only add, subtract, multiply, and divide. I can buy a palm-sized calculator from the dollar store that can compute any given square root in about the time it takes to blink. And what would he do with a graphing calculator?
  • On the larger scale, what would he think of computers? He may have not come up with the original idea for binary, but he certainly refined it enough so that it could be easy to understand and use. Would he be surprised at how far we’ve come technology-wise just based on binary, or would that be something he may have anticipated?
  • And what would he think about technology in general? Like, I’m sure if we just recreated 40-year-old Leibniz and dropped him into the modern world, he’d likely be VERY freaked out, but barring that—say we were able to calm him down and explain things to him—what would he think of our technology now? I’d bet he’d want to deconstruct EVERYTHING to see how it all works, and it wouldn’t surprise me if he just came up with a few improvements off the top of his head. ‘Cause, you know, Leibniz.
  • How would he feel about the fact that now, in 2015, we still use several of his original symbols in calculus? If I were to show him a college calculus textbook, flip to the first section on integration, and point to his elongated “s” symbol, what would his reaction be? Would he think the textbook was from some previous century? Would he realize that the time he spent thoughtfully considering appropriate and intuitive symbols to describe math was not wasted? I wonder if he’d approve or disapprove of the modern calculus textbook in general.
  • WHAT WOULD HE THINK ABOUT GLASSES? The poor guy was ridiculously near-sighted by the time he was about 20. Reading and writing must have been quite difficult for him. A good pair of specs would allow him to see clearly, both near and far. I wonder what his reaction to that would be.
  • What would he think about his Wikipedia page, or any other brief history of his life/accomplishments? Would he feel proud seeing the long list of accomplishments that he’d achieved during his life? Would he wish he’d had more time to do more things? (Probably.) I wonder if he’d be happy with how people see him nowadays and/or how they interpret his philosophical contributions and his general view of the world.

Interesting things to think about. I also like the idea of him impulsively shunning the fashion of his day in favor of some outfit he saw at H&M or something. He’d go running through the store towards it, shedding clothes and knocking over all the displays along the way.

Everyone else: Leibniz, no!
Me: Leibniz, yes.

 

I will not let my insecurities rule my thoughts.

I will not let my insecurities rule my thoughts.
I will not let my insecurities rule my thoughts.
I will not let my insecurities rule my thoughts.
I will not let my insecurities rule my thoughts.
I will not let my insecurities rule my thoughts.
I will not let my insecurities rule my thoughts.

This has been another quality blog post brought to you by Claudia!

Aria Listening? (LOL OPERA JOKE)

OH MY GOD, so in the finale episode of Daredevil, the aria Nessun Dorma is featured during a particular sequence (not going to say anything more…spoilers, you know) and for the past few days I’ve been trying to find the version that was in the show ‘cause it was freaking beautiful.

But I just found a video of Pavarotti singing it instead and it’s the greatest thing ever.

Wow.

[vacant]

I feel like garbage, so have some internet stuff instead of an actual blog post.

Haha, what am I saying? You’d probably all prefer that to my actual blog posts, anyway.

tumblr_nrf3shDSvb1qb5gkjo1_540

BEEP BEEP

Guy

LaserCone

Bull

Day Nurse

GIF - Chased By Words

Halloween Costume

Daredevil

Y’all need to watch Marvel’s Daredevil on Netflix, okay? It’s super dark and violent, but it’s really, really good. I was expecting to enjoy it when Nate and I started watching it, but I didn’t expect to like it as much as I did. Watch it, yo.

Also, the opening sequence is quite cool:

Yes, I know these blog posts suck.

Hey, so here’s a website that allows you to upload an image you like, project it onto an article of clothing like a dress or a skirt or leggings, tweak it around until you’ve got a pattern you like, and then BUY IT.

Very cool.

(Sorry, I don’t have much going on right now.)

Gwobba wubba?

I’m pretty sure we’ve screwed up the planet past the point of being able to fix it.

I mean, I’ve thought that for a while now, but the way the weather’s been acting this year (not just in Calgary but everywhere) and for the past, say, five years as well really suggests to me that we’ve gone past the tipping point.

Which is quite scary.

I didn’t think the major consequences of our destroying the planet were going to hit us in our lifetimes (the lifetimes of our children, yes, but not ours), but given what’s been going on, I’m going to say that they’ll be happening within the next 15 years or so, max.

Yup. Scary.

Wow, it’s a survey! I *never* do those!

1. What’s overdue for a good cleaning?
Since I just cleaned and moved out of my old apartment and the new condo is pretty darn clean, I’d have to say my office. I have papers in there from last fall.

2. What’s overdue for some kind of professional examination, service, maintenance, or upkeep?
Probably my body, haha. I haven’t been to the doctor in forever (mainly because there is no such thing as a “good doctor” in Moscow—trust me, I’ve seen them all) and I’m too wary of doctors to even bother finding one up here. Once I break off an arm or lose all feeling in my butt or something I’ll go see a doctor. Promise. (Maybe.)

3. Who’s overdue for a phone call or letter to you?
My dad? Haha. Though I owe him one, too.

4. What’s overdue for an appearance in your neighborhood?
I have no idea. We just moved here!

5. Who’s overdue for a good comeuppance?
A certain someone who shall not be mentioned by name.

6. What’s a gross food you like anyway?
I like escargot. That’s something most people would probably find gross, huh?

7. Who’s an unlikeable person you like anyway?
How would I know if they’re unlikeable if I like them?

8. What’s an unpleasant task you enjoy performing anyway?
I like a lot of tedious stuff most people don’t like, but I can’t think of anything specific right now.

9. What’s a dumb song you enjoy anyway?
There’s a good number of songs out there with godawful lyrics but a fantastic beat, so I can’t help but enjoy them.

10. What’s a lousy restaurant you frequent anyway?
I don’t really frequent any restaurants anymore. I do like McDonald’s though.

11. What’s your favourite Sci-fi film/program etc?
I don’t like sci-fi in general, but if you consider Sunshine to be sci-fi, then Sunshine.

12. Have you ever had a proper Tarot reading?
Nope. I have a book on how to do one, though.

13. Have you ever used the phrase “back in my time” to someone younger than you?
Only jokingly.

14. Have you ever done something really unbelievable, only to have no one around to see it?
Yes! One Saturday, back when I was teaching, I was writing up my lecture notes for the random variables/probability section. I was discussing discrete vs. continuous random variables and I wanted to show that a continuous variable could take on any value in a given interval, so I mashed the number pad and got a number with 14 or so digits. Then I turned the page in the textbook that I was referencing and they had the EXACT SAME NUMBER as their example. I am not even kidding. Even today I can’t believe that happened. That’s basically statistically impossible, but it happened, dudes.

15. If you were famous would you want a statue or a building named after you?
Gimme a building!

Teachin’ Time! (sort of.)

It’s summer session, which means it’s time for me to be a TA again!

Actually, this semester it’s a little bit different. One of the professors I’m TA-ing for was one I TA-ed for last semester. He knows I want to be a stats teacher at some point and seemed to like the job I did last semester, so this semester he’s letting me basically teach a fourth day of class in place of the lab I was supposed to run.

Which is super snazzy.

I’m also TA-ing for a new class, but it’s a lower-level one than the others, so it shouldn’t be so bad.

I have an exciting life, huh?

Waltz

This is awesome. I had no idea Anthony Hopkins had written a waltz.

saDLFJ

UGH I HATE MY STUPID UGLY BODY

THAT IS ALL

The List: July 2015 Edition

Because I already have more bullet-point-worthy nonsense to say.

  • For some reason, I form an instant kinship with anyone who wears the same brand of shoes as me, even if I don’t know the person at all. I want to run up to them and say, “hey, did you know you could feasibly walk 1,400 miles in those shoes?”
  • I downloaded this song last month, but it’s freaking beautiful and worth a mention. Thanks to Nate for showing it to me!
  • I have a sudden urge to play Zeppelins: Giants of the Sky, but it doesn’t run on anything later than Windows XP. That game was awesome.
  • One of these days, I’m going to continue editing Prime. One of these days.
  • I really need a new desktop computer. My laptop is great, don’t get me wrong; it’s just that once I start doing mega simulations in R for my thesis, I’ll want to use a desktop for that.
  • Confession: I haven’t watched a single one of Achievement Hunter’s new videos since Ray left. I still love all the guys (and I’m sure new guys are hilarious, too), but it’s just not the same without Ray. I’m definitely going to keep watching the older videos, though. Over and over and over and over, haha.
  • You may have noticed I have ceased my Canadian Mall posts. That’s because I ran out of malls.

I HAD FEWER BULLET POINT ITEMS THAN I THOUGHT ALKSAJGLAKDJFA I FAIL

Party all the time

(This is just an excuse to do a dinky little statistical analysis. Because I’m feeling analysis-deprived tonight.)

Long ago (2011) I took a series of online quizzes to figure out when the internet thought my average age of death was (which is a super valid prediction method, right?). Because I’m bored and have no life whatsoever, I’ve decided to re-take those same quizzes today and see if there is a statistically significant difference in the mean age of my death according to the internet.

GO!

The Data:

Year2011 year2015
86       87
70       67
79       79
90       84
89       89
85       85
91       90
85       85

Method: Since this is me just repeating a bunch of tests I’d taken before, this calls for a paired t-test!

H0: there is no difference in the means for 2011 and 2015
Ha: there is a difference in the means for 2011 and 2015

Results: The difference of the sample means is 1.125. With t = 1.3864, p-value = 0.282, we do not have significant evidence to reject the null hypothesis that there is no difference in the means for 2011 and 2015

Basic conclusion: My average lifespan (according to the internet) has neither increased nor decreased since 2011.

The end.

Sorry I’m so boring.

LEIBNIZFEST 2015

You know what the only downside is to LeibnizFest?* Reading the last chapter of that Antognazza biography.

Man, is it sad.

Leibniz did not have a very good time at the end of his life. “Leibniz’s last years were marred by frustration and loneliness,” is the first sentence of that last chapter, and unfortunately it is a very fitting first sentence. First, he’d outlived almost everyone he’d ever communicated with (most of them died in the 1690’s; Leibniz lived until 1716) and thus had very few people to communicate with. Second, he was still trying to recover his reputation after the whole calculus debate with Newton (and actually, I shouldn’t say “after” yet because Newton and his cronies (mostly his cronies) dragged that thing out well past Leibniz’ death). Third, he wanted desperately to keep traveling, but injury, poor health, and prior obligations basically forced him to stay put for a good several years. A quote of his from the bio: “I am shut in my room working and I hardly ever leave it.” This is coming from a man who took on innumerable projects just so that he’d have the excuse to travel and converse with people of different backgrounds and skills, so it’s super sad. And then, of course, there’s the fact that he basically died alone and was given very little recognition for his accomplishments until well after his death.

It’s heartbreaking to me to hear all the crappy things that happened to him in the last five or so years of his life. Someone with such a great mind, such compassion, and such good spirit deserved something better at the end.

UGH IT JUST MAKES ME UPSET, OKAY?

To end LeibnizFest on a lighter note, have a look at this Leibniz-centric website that has pretty much everything you could ever want on the amazing polymath. I have it bookmarked. I visit it a few times a week.

It’s a healthy obsession.

Anyway. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, LEIBNIZ!

 

*I’m totally calling mid-June to mid-July LeibnizFest now; it’s gone beyond just celebrating on his birthday, let’s be honest.

This is Tumblr’s Fault

The internet.

The internet.

I have a couple Tumblr blogs that I “follow” (read: stalk but don’t actually follow Tumblr-style) and one of them has been consistently commenting “WHAT ARE THOOOOOOOOOSE” on every…I don’t know, 10th thing they post. It took me a little bit to figure out where this was coming from, but I found it: Vine, of course!

Here’s a compilation of “WHAT ARE THOOOOOOOOOSE” edits, with the original vine being the first video in the set.

It’s probably an annoying to most people but I just find it hysterical for some reason.

Edit: Hahahahaha, oh my god, this is the greatest.

Protected: KWAAA

This content is password-protected. To view it, please enter the password below.

Sadness!

The last one.

I miss Ray.

The conversation at 4:46 is great.

I’M IN THE MIDDLE OF MOVING, LEAVE ME TO MY BORING BLOG POSTS

Woah.

Here we go again…

Nate gets possession of the condo today, which can mean only one thing: TIME TO START MOVING STUFF!

You’d think I’d just be indifferent to the nonsense that is moving by now, given all the times I’ve done it, but I still dislike it. And that’s all we’re going to be doing this weekend. And it’s going to be like 90 degrees while we do it.

But at least we’ll have our own new place once it’s done!

Edit: oh thank god, the previous owners cleaned the condo. It was super gross when we saw it last but now it’s clean and we don’t have to spend three hours scouring someone else’s pee off the bathroom floor or cleaning out old gross food from the kitchen sink/stove/fridge.