ZzZzZzZ
Wow. Cue random depression at like 4 PM this afternoon. Calc was awesome this morning (u-substitution review!) and I spent the afternoon working out and writing stuff (not at the same time), but when I got home I wanted death.
Haha, I guess this is what I get for complaining about being happy the other day, eh?
Touche, brain. Touche.
Bah, what’s with me?
This is going to sound like a super emo post, but I don’t have anything else to say today so you get to hear me bitch about pseudo problems.
I suck at being happy.
It’s not that I can’t be happy. It’s true that I haven’t been truly happy in like three years, but once I started teaching stats and taking classes, I finally felt that elusive joy you feel when you wake up knowing that you have a purpose (or at least can pretend to have one).
But whenever I get to that happiness stage, there’s always a little (often big) voice in the back of my head saying, “why the hell are you happy? Happiness = complacency, complacency = stagnation, stagnation = you’re not trying hard enough you fool.”
Stupid? Yeah, welcome to my world.
But that’s how it goes.
Now I have to find something to fret over obsessively to bring things back from “obscene happiness.”
‘Caaaaaaaaaaaause I suck.
Bah.
I hate those days where you spend most of your waking hours contending with the fact that you’re an IDIOT and will never amount to anything of importance no matter what you do.
I don’t feel much like talking today, sorry.
BlaLaLaLaLa
I feel freaking horrible today. Very, very lonely and without motivation for the first time this semester. I think I’m realizing that like 90% of my friends are in steady relationships with someone or other and I’m still alone.
I know, I know, shut up, Claudia.
But seriously. I wouldn’t mind some companionship; it’s been like three years.
[self-pity bitch-session complete; commence Fallout 3]
Tonight…
…I feel very, very alone.
There’s a dude in one of my classes that I sort of dig, but I’m not sure if he digs me back. It could just be my “I have no social intuition at all so I live in a world completely disconnected to any sort of reality” situation. SUCH IS MY LIFE.
Dear Universe:
I am stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid.
The end.
Good stuff
Ah, test anxiety. I’ve forgotten how you feel. I’ll bet you $20 that I’ll be throwing up all morning tomorrow before I get to campus.
But aside from that…
I’m experiencing a feeling that I haven’t genuinely felt in a long, long time: happiness. Sure, obviously I’ve had SOME little bits of happiness, but for the past three years or so I’ve felt like I haven’t had a purpose or haven’t had a goal worth working for.
But now that’s gone. And I’m…I’m happy. For the first time since like 2009, I’m actually genuinely happy.
I don’t really know how to handle this.
Exactly six years ago…
…was the very first day of college for myself and at least two of my readers.
Exactly six years ago we became official college students, taking our very first classes and having our very first college-level grade-related panic attacks.
(Maybe that last part was just me)
It’s crazy what six years can do, eh? We’re all in very separate places but still in the same town.
I often think the same things of my high school friends as well. I wonder about the different paths we’ve all taken to get us to where we are now.
Life is a weird, weird thing.
Six years ago, I didn’t even want to go to college. I thought it was the next unavoidable step in life, so I just went. I wanted nothing to do with math/stats/anything quantitative and was a psychology/music/theatre triple major (hahahaha).
Now I’m teaching a freaking statistics class.
What about the rest of you guys? How much has changed for you in the last six years? What’s stayed the same?
I miss happiness and I miss control.
I miss happiness and I miss control.
I miss happiness and I miss control.
I miss happiness and I miss control.
I miss happiness and I miss control.
I miss happiness and I miss control.
I miss happiness and I miss control.
I miss happiness and I miss control.
I miss happiness and I miss control.
I miss happiness and I miss control.
I miss happiness and I miss control.
I miss happiness and I miss control.
I miss happiness and I miss control.
I miss happiness and I miss control.
I miss happiness and I miss control.
I miss happiness and I miss control.
I miss happiness and I miss control.
I miss happiness and I miss control.
But I mostly miss control.
2012, stop trying to be 2011.
Okay, that’s a bit of an exaggeration. But this year’s still kind of sucky.
This week in particular has been one long string of bad news. I know you’re all probably sick of me complaining here, but I need someplace to vent before I start stabbing peoples. You all know how I like plans, right? Well so far this year it’s been very, very tricky to make any sort of concrete plans. That’s very difficult for me.
On a positive note, I (accidentally) sliced the hell out of my ankle with my razor while I was shaving my legs and didn’t even really bleed. Vitamin K, people. It makes you a god.
That is all.
Is a short spike in self-esteem considered a confidence interval?
When you think about death, does it excite you? I think it should. Death is, in my opinion, a pretty amazing thing.
Why? Think about it: we go through most of our daily life never giving it a thought—maybe being reminded of it only when a family member succumbs to it or we hear about a fatal accident on the news. But it’s there somewhere in each of our futures and there’s no escaping it. As abstract and distant as it may seem, it’s still going to happen. There’s no escape. We’re all going to get to experience it.
Isn’t that exciting? Seriously. No two deaths are the same, regardless of what the ultimate causes are. Two guys on the same block may die from fatal heart attacks, but that doesn’t mean that their deaths are anywhere close to comparable. We each get our own individual way of leaving the (known) world. How cool is that? Individual, personal exits to whatever’s after human consciousness. Personally, I’m excited to see what mine will be.
2012: Year of the Restart
2011 decided to give me one final blow and reared its ugly, bad-luck-and-crappy-experience-ridden head today, so I’ve decided that because we’re already one day long for the year (February 29th will be making it’s quadrennial appearance), New Year’s Day will actually occur tomorrow.
Alright?
Alright.
We’re back to the year of the Dragon, which is my Chinese zodiac sign, so that’s at least something good. Right?
Also this:
Go &*#! Yourself, 2011.
I think 2012 could end up a horrible, fire-and-brimstone, world-ending, apocalyptic chaos of death and destruction…and it would STILL be better than 2011.
Mother of GOD this year sucked. Most of the things on the “bad” list are way more bad than the things on the “good” list are good. If that makes sense.
The GOOD:
- The Master’s. I honestly did not think this would happen. Getting a super high grade on it and being told it was PhD level work made it that much more of a big deal to me.
- Skydiving. Probably the most peaceful thing I’ve ever experienced, believe it or not. I mean, after you’re airborne out of the plane, at least. Getting up there was loud and bumpy.
- 10K. I never thought I’d run for pleasure, let alone voluntarily sign up for a 10k. I totally would have finished in under an hour, too, if I didn’t have to stop and use the bathrooms.
- Getting into UWO. Disregard my leaving prematurely (see “bad” list item #8), UWO was fantastic. It was a super-needed ego boost, too, to know I’d gotten accepted into one of the highest rated philosophy of science grad programs in the world (according to The Philosophical Gourmet Report).
- Being with my mom. Crappy circumstances brought us together, but our togetherness is keeping us sane through the crappiness. Love you, mom!
- Conquering Vancouver via walking. I spent many, many hours walking the streets of Vancouver. I could probably draw an accurate map of the city, still.
- Mount Rushmore. DUDE, presidents! This was a fantastic and last-minute road trip on our road trip to London, ON this summer and it was totally worth it. Everyone should see it, it’s spectacular.
The BAD:
- The Master’s. March, April, May, June: the four worst months of my life. I am not exaggerating one little bit. Looking back, I cannot understand how I kept getting out of bed every morning and doing the stuff I needed to do (except for that one atypical day where I said “screw this noise” and played Fallout all day). Seriously. Bad. Times.
- UBC/grad school/Vancouver. Vancouver and I, we did not get along. Ever. From the second I stepped into that city, things began to suck. Ask my mom, man, she’s a witness.
- Loneliness. I’m a solitary person by nature, but I do enjoy the occasional Rock Band orgy with my friends. Never happened up here.
- The potpourri of “issues.” The less said about these, the better. Related are “bad” items #1, #5, #6, #7, and #8. Party in the USA.
- Panic attacks. To say I’m an anxious person is probably the understatement of the century, but as stressed out as I’ve always gotten over EVERYTHING, I’ve never had a panic attack issue. Until this year. Merry Christmas.
- Hospitalization #1. At least Vancouver General has good muffins.
- Hospitalization #2. Claudia’s conscious brain: “okay, let’s settle down and concentrate. Thesis is due in less than 24 hours!” Claudia’s unconscious brain: “you’d best locate your ctrl + alt + delete keys, as your brain’s about to do a hard reset. Happy thesis writing!”
- Having to leave UWO. Related to #4. I really, really, really, really, REALLY wanted to stay there. Circumstances did not allow for this (quite literally—there was no way I could remain in Canada due to what’s been going on). Sometimes things suck, but the universe knows what it’s doing.
Okay, I HOPE the universe knows what it’s doing. Hey universe, if you’re listening, I’d like a job as a statistical analyst somewhere, please. And I’d like my mom to be happy. And I’d like my friends to be happy.
(And I’d like Leibniz. Just for, like, five minutes. …Please?)
Bring it on, 2012. Bring it on.
Somebody turned off my “ability to give a crap” switch
I have nothing of substance to say today.
I guess that’s not really any different than any other day, but today I’m not masking it by a survey/blathering/stupid YouTube videos.
Sorry. Have to have everything cleaned up and packed by Friday afternoon.
I played Fallout all afternoon.
I have three bobbleheads and have successfully killed about seven Deathclaws, but nothing packed.
Peh.
Today…
I need a hug.
What’s Going On
Since I guess anyone who reads this with any seriousness might care (and apparently didn’t see my Facebook post about it this morning), I’ve made the decision to withdraw from UWO for the time being (well, technically forever, as I’d have to reapply to get back in, but that’s for another time perhaps). Without going into too much detail (or much at all…HA! Mysterious!), I’ve got some health issues going on that make going to school at the moment fairly impossible.
Why not get some form of treatment for it up here, then? Well, in order to qualify for any sort of medical coverage, I have to be enrolled in school. In order to be enrolled in school, I have to be successful in my classes, meaning I have to have the ability to concentrate on them enough to rock them. Because of said current health issues, I’m really not able to place much concentration on classes at all, and therefore “rocking them” is something that cannot be currently done. So I can’t really stay enrolled and thus can’t get healthcare (or anything else) up here.
So I’m going back to Moscow to find a doctor and hopefully will feel better soon enough to continue to go to school, ‘cause I dig school and don’t want to quit because of stupid health crap.
So judge me, call me stupid, weak, pathetic, whatever, I don’t care. Sometimes things need to be done.
30-Day Meme – Day 20: A hobby of yours.
Haha, can I say blogging? Blogging is so totally a hobby of mine. Though I guess I can say an equally prominent hobby in my life is doing statistics for fun. I really, really like running analyses on sets of data. I love to predict outcomes, I love to plot statistical results and trends, and I freaking LOVE interpreting said results and trends. Recreational stats FTW!
sfa dfaf ddd
Feel like total crap. No motivation, no will to do anything. Want to curl up and die in a dark corner. Blogging not happening today.
Dudes…
So I’ve finally come to the realization that I’m going to be moving halfway across the continent and am probably not returning in a long while. I’ll be in freaking Eastern Time, yo. I’ll be living surrounded by Great Lakes (and, well, Canadians, but that’s nothing new now). Scary stuff. At least for me.
Sorry, I’m in full freak-out mode and thus don’t have much to say. See you tomorrow!






