Category Archives: Health

Documentary time!

Filmmaker Jacob LaMendola created this short video on anosmia that got featured on the New York Times website. Please watch it. Lots of interesting perspectives from congenital and non-congenitals alike.

SNIFFY

Holy crap!

http://sensonics.com/

“Sensonics, Inc. provides the medical, scientific and industrial communities with the best smell and taste tests for assessing chemosensory function.”

Shwing!

I’d love to try their Sniff Magnitude Test to see if anything’s actually registering and I just can’t tell, but there’s no way I can drop $6,000 on…well, anything right now, haha. I’d also like to see what the TR-06 Rion Electrogustometer is all about. I know my nose is shot…how screwy is my taste?

In This Blog: I Unzip My Genes

On February 1st I sent a tube of my spit through the mail with the goal to have my genetics explored via the services offered by 23andMe. Today I got an email saying that my results were complete! And now we shall commence with examining the results.

23andMe, for those of you who don’t know, is a DNA testing service that provides customers an insight into their DNA. Pay for a kit, receive it, spit into the special tube, and send it back and within 6 – 8 weeks, you’ll receive an online report detailing 118 disease risks, 55 traits, 20 drug responses, and 44 carrier statuses.

Knowing a bit about the general health characteristics of my family, I had a few conjectures regarding what I thought the results would show in terms of disease risk:

What I thought would be higher risk than average – diabetes (it’s on both sides of my family), Alzheimer’s (also on both sides of my family), kidney stones and gout (my dad’s had both of these), and possibly high blood pressure (my dad has this, my mom’s had it intermittently)

What I thought would be lower risk than average – the cancers (there’s not a lot of any specific type or much cancer at all in my family) and coronary heart disease (NONE of this in the family).

I also had some guesses as to what some of my trait results would be:

I’m guessing my bitter taste perception is poor due to my extreme liking of broccoli and Brussels sprouts and the like.

If my anosmia is genetic, I’m guessing I’ll lack the genetic component responsible for detecting isovaleric acid, a sweaty-type smell.

I’m also guessing that I’ll show up as sensitive to at least a few of the drugs they examine, as I’ve had major reactions to pretty much every drug I’ve ever been on.

So those were my conjectures. Want to see what my DNA really says? Let’s break it down by category.

Disease Risk
Pretty much every single one of my major* results surprised me. I have almost double the average risk for—wait for it—gallstones. I also have elevated risk for macular degeneration, glaucoma, restless leg syndrome, and primary biliary cirrhosis.

Even more interesting to me are my decreased risk diseases. Alzheimer’s and diabetes, the two major issues in my family? Genetically, I’m at decreased risk for both of them (I’m at nearly half the average genetic risk for Alzheimer’s). The two ailments of my father, gout and kidney stones, are two other diseases for which I’m at decreased risk.  I’m also at low risk for rheumatoid arthritisceliac disease, lupus (sorry, House), and endometriosis.

A few things for which I  have average risk: obesity, coronary heart disease (interesting…), chronic kidney disease, atrial fibrillation.

Traits
Now we come to what, in my opinion, was the really fun stuff to look at. Here are a few that surprised me/were pretty interesting.

As I expected, I have “about an 80% chance of not being able to taste certain bitter flavors.” This makes me “taste blind” to the bitterness of foods of the cabbage family.

I am “likely tolerant” of lactose, which makes sense. I’ve never had a problem with dairy, even when I used to drink at least a glass of milk a day.

According to one marker for intelligence, my IQ performance should be about 3 points higher than average.

I am a “likely sprinter,” which means that I’ve got one gene that is turned on in a type of muscle fiber used for power-based sports (a fast-twitch muscle fiber). I’ve never worked out with sprints (I’ve always run long distances)…perhaps I should give it a try.

I AM sensitive to isovaleric acid, the sweaty-type odor. Perhaps my anosmia is physical/structural and not genetic? Obviously this one marker isn’t responsible for all olfaction, but still.

I have typical sensitivity to pain.

I am at slightly higher odds of developing tuberculosis if I were to be exposed to it.

Drug Response
DRUGGGS! This whole category surprised me. Of the 20 drug responses they test for, the only drug for which I showed increased sensitivity to was Warfarin, a blood thinner.

What am I missing…oh yeah, the carrier statuses. Of the 44 tested for, I don’t carry any of the diseases/deficiencies.

So what does all this mean, then? It probably won’t be bad genes that kill me, so I’ll either have to slog through to old age or dive in front of a bus.

Woo!

*23andMe denotes “elevated risk” and “reduced risk” as cases where an individual’s risk due to genetics is 20% or more above average for the disease or 20% or more below the average for the disease, respectively.

Explain, please

I’ve been running about 20-25 miles per week since the beginning of the year. Within the past week or so, however, I’ve started to get blisters. On the TOPS of my toes.

Any ideas why this is happening?

Edit: I’m not a beginner runner. I ran a LOT last year. I also walk quite a bit.

Edit 2: No, I didn’t just get new shoes, nor are my old ones too worn out to continue running in them.

Anosmia Awareness Day

I belong to the group “Anosmics of the World, Unite!” on Facebook. We’re a group of 711 people who were either born without a sense of smell or lost it due to head injury/nasal viral infection/nasal polyps/etc. It was decided that today, February 23rd, would be our Facebook-driven Anosmia Awareness Day.

I know I’ve linked to the Wiki Anosmia page multiple times in this blog, so instead I’ll link you all to this fantastic little article. Please give it a read, especially those rare individuals out there who stumble upon this blog who haven’t already heard me blah-blah-blah about anosmia.

Enjoy! Stop and smell the roses for me. :)

Blaaaaaaaaaaaah SCREW YOU, Big Pharma

Me @ 7:30 AM: I am SO PUMPED TODAY, I’m going to be SUPER PRODUCTIVE and get everything done!
Me @ 9:30 AM: Oh crap, gotta take my med.
Me @ 10:45 AM: Woah, feeling exhausted all of a sudden.
Me @ 11:00 AM: I will start stabbing people if I don’t get to go to sleep NOW.
Me @ 11:15 AM: Supervisor, I cannot stay awake. Please let me go home.
Me @ 12:00 PM: [sleep]
Me @ 2:00 PM: [still sleep]
Me @ 4:00 PM: [more sleep]
Me @ 5:15 PM: [finally woken up by my mom]

So yeah. Screw you, Saphris. I have no idea how people take this med TWICE a day and function. But then again, I’m super sensitive to side effects like super sedation.

 

Side note: Super Sedation would be a fantastically worthless superhero.

Runaway

“Run, Forrest, run!”

Total distance in January: 262.89 miles
Total distance necessary in January to keep pace with 2,500 miles for the year: 211.75 miles

Rockin’.

Protected: Is there a “Chicken Soup for the Vegetarian’s Soul” book?

This content is password-protected. To view it, please enter the password below.

CLICK-CLICK-BOOM-BOOM-SNAP-POP-WATER-WEDGE

So 23andMe has a bunch of little surveys you can opt to take. Once you answer them you’re shown the stats for each question based on the people who have already taken the surveys.

Three interesting tidbits about our fellow humans. My answers are starred green.

IN OTHER NEWS! New plan for completing my walking distance goal this year: because I finally am working a full-time job, I can no longer walk my 10 (or 12 or 15 or 22) miles per day, ‘cause that obviously takes a long time to do. So I decided to count running distance toward my final goal. To reach my 2,500 I’ll need to either:

a) run 5 miles four days a week (one day off during the week) and two 15-mile walks on the weekends, or

b) run 10k (approximately 6.2 miles) four days a week and two 12- or 13-mile walks on the weekends.

I’ll probably do b) while the days are still relatively short, but once it’s light longer I’ll probably switch to a).

Y, get out of my vowels.

I can’t pretend that there’s nothing wrong anymore. And it sucks.

Sorry these blogs have been really, really crappy as of late. My mind is…well, gone.

Protected: BIG FREAKING BLAH.

This content is password-protected. To view it, please enter the password below.

Are Humorous Baristas called Brew-Ha-Has?

Since February 26th of this year, I’ve walked* the equivalent distance of the span of Romania.

One of my 101 in 1001 goals I added a month or so ago was to have walked the equivalent distance length of Idaho over the course of the year (that’s 479 miles, approximately). But then, when I was researching the lengths of states and various other things, I found out that the distance across Romania is pretty similar (approximately 460 miles). Since saying that you walked the span of a country sounds a lot cooler than walking the length of a state, I changed my goal. It’s a little shorter in reality, sure, but I figure I’ll hit 479 miles soon enough, anyway. I took a 9-mile walk this afternoon that brought my total to 464.89 miles.

Woo!
And you know I can’t do anything like this without bringing you all some STATS!

  • Total distance in Vancouver: 234.5 miles
  • Total distance everywhere else combined: 230.39
  • Longest walk: 22.64 miles (47,132 steps)

Boxplot!

Correlations!

           distance   calories      steps      speed
distance  1.0000000  0.9760977  0.9904710 -0.2836056
calories  0.9760977  1.0000000  0.9422555 -0.1071855
steps     0.9904710  0.9422555  1.0000000 -0.3922823
speed    -0.2836056 -0.1071855 -0.3922823  1.0000000

WOO!

*Walking distance includes only “intentional” walking times—times I walked to walk (including all Canadian Mall destinations)—and more specifically, the times I actually had my iPod Touch with me and utilized the iTreadmill app and excludes distance accrued while walking to/from campus, going to the grocery store, prancing around the house, etc.

More Boring News

Okay, now I’m 95% sure I won’t be in Moscow for much longer. Like I said before (I think), there’s a person down in AZ who seems imminently more qualified to help with the bag of craptastic crappery into which my life currently has fallen.

(Side note: nighttime panic attacks blow heavy metal chunks)
(Side note II: Big Compy  has been making horrible grinding noises ever since they shipped him from London. Quite disconcerting)

Anyway. Just letting anyone who cares know.

Blog the Blog of Ages!

Blarghglsdfhg.

So. Because every doctor in Moscow is a member of the Incompetent Physicians of America Association, I may not be in Moscow for much longer. I’ve got some shit going on and my mom found a doctor down in Arizona that seems to be exponentially better than the culmination of all the doctors in Moscow (can you tell I haven’t had any great experiences with doctors in this town?).

So yeah. Just letting anyone who cares know.

OH, and assuming I stay here (it’s probably 50/50 right now, so who knows), perhaps we can all do something over Thanksgiving break. Matt, I know you read this…do you get a few days off for Thanksgiving and are you going anywhere during that week? Maggie (if you read this), are you going anywhere? If you’re all around (and I am too, haha) we should totally get together and have a little Thanksgiving party. Tasty foods, Rock Band, silliness in the basement…all that jazz.

Yay!

Also, I want everything from this Etsy shop.

A Wild Blog Appears!

I have Type III skin!

The Fitzpatrick Skin Typing Test is used to classify skin types by how people react to sun exposure and is also used to enhance treatment for skin cancers.

Type III skin is “light olive” and seen for people with pretty much any eye and hair color but is most common for people with chestnut hair and hazel eyes. It is common among Mediterranian type Caucasians, and some Hispanics. People with Type III skin sometimes get “mild burns” and “gradually tan.”

Check out your skin type here!

I feel like DEATH

It’s rare for me to feel sick. It’s even rarer for me to actually BE sick.

Right now I feel like I got hit by a semi and am alternately getting blasted by waves of burning hot wind and arctic cold tornadoes. Temperature = 102.3, which is ridiculously high for me.

So it’s an “I feel like miserable crap pity party” time here. Hopefully this will go away by tomorrow, ‘cause I need to clean/pack/play Fallout.

Yes, I can’t even concentrate long enough to play Fallout—I DO feel crappy.

Laters!

Edit: holy freaking crap, President Obama is turning 50 this year? He looks really young.

Hm.

Huh.

Well.

That was an interesting night/morning/afternoon.

I, uh…don’t feel much like talking about it.

Sorry.

DNA? Please!

Check this out: https://www.23andme.com/

I’m totally considering getting this done as my graduation present to myself.
Assuming, you know, I pass my thesis defense.

Reasons:
– Because it would be awesome
– Because they test odor detection
– And tardive dyskinesia
– AND gout, which my father has

It looks pretty legit, and things like this have always interested me.

$99 seems reasonable enough, too, especially as a reward for two years of hell.

More fun with WebMD

According to Web MD’s symptom checker, I could have one or more of the following:

– Schizophrenia
– Depression
– Postpartum depression
– Generalized anxiety disorder
– Epilepsy
– Hyperthyroidism
– Acute stress reaction
– PMS
– Bipolar disorder
– Hypoglycemia
– Cocaine abuse
– Dementia
– Grief reaction
– Heartburn
– Excessive caffeine use

 

Lawl. Mental issues. I don’t know where the epilepsy came from…I didn’t click on each individual illness to see which symptoms I checked applied. They nailed me with the cocaine abuse, though.

I should be dead

Blood pressure: 99/68
Heart rate: 49 BPM
Body temperature: 94.5 F

 

Can this seriously be normal? I think my body is in “screw life, I’m going to maintain minimum function” mode. Looks like it’s mimicking my attitude.

Protected: Hospitalization

This content is password-protected. To view it, please enter the password below.

DUDE IS THERE HOPE?

Read this abstract: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/12439184

Eh, probably not for us congenitals. I looked around and it sounds like the research only supports it improving the sense of smell in individuals who lost it due to viral infections. Still though…
Alpha lipoic acid capsules aren’t very expensive, don’t sound like they’re dangerous as long as you don’t chug the whole bottle, and are also supposed to help with memory-related stuff, which is good because I’m probably going to have Alzheimer’s by the time I’m 28.
But dudes, what would I do with a sense of smell, even a crappy one? I’d probably flip.
Must acquire alpha lipoic acid…

Also this: http://hisz.rsoe.hu/alertmap/index2.php?lang

It’s a pretty up-to-date map of all the disasters going on around the planet. Scroll down past the map to view current, short-term, and long-term disasters, tsunami and earthquake events, supervolcano and regular volcano monitoring, and near-earth objects in space. I actually found this before Japan’s earthquake, but look at that region now. Craziness. When this kind of stuff happens it always makes me wish I could physically go to the disaster site and work to help people there.

Protected: Medication Trepidation

This content is password-protected. To view it, please enter the password below.

Hyper-logical dreams are scary

Med switch! Now I’m hardly sleeping at all and, when I do, my dreams read like an instruction book. Like last night I dreamt about whether or not to buy a KitchenAid mixer in a very factual manner. It was…weird.
Haha, sorry, it’s just that my dreams are usually fairly nonlinear and this was like a debate meet.

Blaaaaaaaaaah sorry.

 

 

Today’s song: Take Me Over by Cut Copy

Protected: I liiiiive!

This content is password-protected. To view it, please enter the password below.