DEAR GOD FEBRUARY ARE YOU OVER YET?

It’s the February list.

  • I just discovered r/EuroTruck2 and the top posts are hysterical.
  • Me before Bluetooth-capable headphones: Why would I ever need Bluetooth? These headphones are fine.
    Me after Bluetooth-capable headphones: FUCK CORDS
  • I’m pretty sure I’m addicted to pepper. Like, if my mouth is not on fire, there’s not enough of it. I need to feel the burn, man.
  • This overwhelming feeling of apathy needs to go die.
  • LOOK AT THIS BEAUTIFUL MOTH

(Okay, the moth helped with the apathy. He’s so big and beautiful!)

I’m done here.

Holy craps!

This needs its own post because OH MY GOD SO GOOD:

So. Good.

In This Blog Post: A Silly Blog Post

This picture has been my desktop background for a while, so I made a thing out of it.

02-26-2018

Stacy’s mom has turned into a prawn / she’s got gills now and she’s flopping on the lawn

Today is the closing ceremony of the Olympics, so let’s make this blog Olympic-related.

Let’s rank some Olympic Logos! Specifically, top five and bottom five.

GO!

Top Five

5. Salt Lake 2002
This one’s a’ight. I like the star/torch/snowflake logo and how it’s not perfectly symmetric.

02-25-2018-a

 

4. Melbourne/Stockholm 1956
This one is pretty. While not super “Olympics-looking,” I’ts like a cool little stamp. I dig it.

02-25-2018-b

 

3. Tokyo 1964
I like how simple this logo is. The gradient in the circle is cool and the color looks really good with the gold color of the rings and text.

02-25-2018-c

 

2. Atlanta 1996
I dig the torch. Also, I think this is the first Olympics I remember watching.

02-25-2018-d

 

1. Calgary 1988
Totally not biased by the fact that it’s my birth year and the city I currently live in. I do really like this logo. It’s simple but still visually interesting, and definitely has an 80s vibe to it.

02-25-2018-e

 

Bottom Five

5. Athens 2004
Not a huge fan of the little watercolor-looking blue square. It seems very disconnected with the rings/text and seems…unprofessional?

02-25-2018-f

 

4. Mexico 1968
Why does the “X” get like 400 extra lines? There’s just too many goddamn lines. That “68” with the rings looks really busy. They should have just made the bottom two rings of the 6 and the 8 just two of the colored rings.

02-25-2018-g

 

3. Berlin 1936
“Oh crap, we forgot to make an Olympics logo!”
“What are we going to do?!?”
“Here, quick, trace this picture of a bell with a ballpoint pen and write some stuff on it.”
“Should I color it or something?”
“No time, the Olympics start in two minutes!”
“Sheisse!”

02-25-2018-h

 

2. Lake Placid 1932
That is the wonkiest North America I have ever seen. Apparently Mexico is a tube sock? And that dude is like 80% legs. Did a five year old with half an eye draw this?

02-25-2018-i

 

1. London 2012
I like to imagine the dude who designed this logo was told that graphic design wasn’t an Olympic sport and he was like, “the fuck it isn’t!” and then proceeded to win gold in the “designing logos while on hallucinogens” event.

02-25-2018-j

Next To Me

Man, if this song doesn’t sum up how I feel about Nate and our relationship…

Ugg

I am a disgustingly ugly human being. And I’m really sick of people trying to convince me otherwise.

Yes, I’m ugly. No, I don’t believe you when you try to tell me I’m not ugly. I know you’re trying to be polite, but knock it off.

I am objectively ugly.

If I had the means, I would plastic surgery the hell out of every part of my body.

“But Claudia, then you wouldn’t look like yourself anymore!”

Fucking exactly. 

DON’T TEX WITH MESSAS

Ha. I’ve walked over most of these.

The accessibility is really bad. That one in the featured picture is a death trap even if you’re fully able-bodied and have no issue going up and down stairs.

02-22-2018-a

Look at the rust!

02-22-2018-b

And this one. This one’s rough. I used to go over this one all the time when I took the “long way” into campus, looping up by Safeway and then heading in from there. But like 30% of its stairs are crumbling and unstable, and I’d rather not risk my leg on that nonsense, so I haven’t gone that way in a long while.

Edit: Hahaha, smile for the Google car, dude!

02-22-2018-c

I never thought I’d love having my own virtual heavy truck but HERE WE ARE

I just spent $49,000 to further customize and upgrade my truck in ETS2. It’s super awesome now.

(Yes, I’m still obsessed with this game)

Death by Lava: There’s an App for That

Gather ‘round, children, and let me tell you of the dream in which I murdered thousands of people by using an app!

In this dream, I still live in Calgary. But rather than the city being situated where it is currently, it sat in this basin surrounded by a bunch of dormant volcanoes.

One of these volcanoes is of particular interest to scientists. Specifically, they want to see if they can make it active again. Because Science™. So to help their cause, they create an app. The app is a giant button that, when pressed, sets off one of many explosive charges that have been placed inside the dormant volcano. The scientists make a special news announcement about this app and encourage people to use it. Because Science™.

And I love this app. Anytime I have a moment, I open it and press the detonation button.

One day, Nate and I have to go shopping, so we head to this big mall that’s outside of the basin, kind of along the rim somewhere. From the parking lot, you can look down into the basin and can see the ring of dormant volcanoes around it.

Standing out in this parking lot, I can’t tell which of the volcanoes is the one we’re trying to make active again, so I pull out my phone and open the app with the intention of seeing if I can tell which volcano it is if I set off one of the charges. I push the button approximately 40 times (thus setting off 40 charges) and look around to see if I can see where the detonations are happening. Then I notice that there’s lava bubbling up in one of the volcanoes that is rapidly spilling out down the sides of the volcano and heading right towards Calgary.

I’m like “OH SHIT”—more due to the fact that Jazzy is down there in the path of the lava rather than the fact that like 1.2 million people are down there as well—and run to tell Nate that we need to get back down there to save our kitty.

But then I woke up, so I don’t know what kind of carnage I caused.

Odd news.

PostModern Jukebox

Have you ever heard of Postmodern Jukebox? If not, STOP WHAT YOU’RE DOING AND CHECK OUT THEIR YOUTUBE CHANNEL NOW!

I have had their vintage bluegrass hoedown-style cover of “Anaconda” stuck in my head ever since I stumbled upon it this afternoon.

I also love their covers of “Timber” (1950s doo wop), “Wiggle” (1920s broadway), and “Don’t You Worry Child” (“Great Gatsby” style).

 

Edit: OH MY GOD THIS IS THE BEST

This is so good. It has such a different mood than the original.

ATHF

Someone’s posted a whole ton of Aqua Teen Hunger Force episodes on YouTube and I’m having a flashback party to when I used to watch this show all the time in college.

I’d forgotten how weird it was.

It also got me into Metalocalypse, ’cause that was always on after ATHF. And we all know I love Metalocalypse.

Apathy, Thy Name Is…eh, who even cares.

I’ve been having a real hard time working up the ability to care about anything lately.

Which would bug me, I’m sure, if I cared.

I suspect this overwhelming feeling of apathy has a lot to do with the fact that I don’t have a walking mileage goal that’s better (read: more) than last year’s. Goals motivate me. Sometimes my goals are the only things that keep me from jumping in front of a bus. But goals only work for me if they get progressively more challenging and/or impressive. So the fact that my mileage goal this year is not greater than 5,000 miles is really messing with my head. It’s like…why care about anything anymore if I’m not making progress by setting more difficult goals?

I know that probably sounds ridiculous, but I can’t think of another reason for such a high level of “I don’t care about anything anymore” feeling. I honestly feel like I wouldn’t care about something really bad happening to me (e.g., getting murdered) or something really good (e.g., winning a Nobel Prize or something) right now.

I’d just be like, “alrighty.”

So that’s a fun mood.

Anyway.

THIS IS A BLOG TITLE

THIS IS A BLOG

QUALITY CONTENT, YO

She’s beauty, she’s grace…

I can’t stop laughing at her face.

02-15-2018

Men’s figure skating is the best Olympic event

Hey, it’s Winter Olympics time! That means it’s time to bring up this video again for any poor souls who haven’t seen it yet.

Johnny Weir is awesome.

Also, Plushenko. Because Plushenko.

Nnnnf.

Clipster Tripster

Hahaha, what in the hell is this?

Clippy gets trippy and has an existential crisis in 90’s Land.

BREAKING NEWS:

I hate myself.

HEY LEG:

GET BETTER

TWO! TWO! TWO SURVEYS IN ONE!

1. January was National Mentoring Month. Have you ever had a mentor? Been a mentor? How would you rate the experience?
I’ve never been a mentor and have never been mentored. So there.

2. What current trend makes no sense to you?
Active wear (especially yoga pants (ESPECIALLY yoga pants with that weird mesh nonsense)) being worn as everyday clothing. NO. STOP. You’re RUINING EVERYTHING.

3. I saw a cartoon on Facebook highlighting a few ‘weird’ things that make you happy as an adult. The list included-writing with a nice pen, having plans cancelled, freshly cleaned sheets, eating the corner brownie, cleaning the dryer lint screen, and sipping coffee in that brief time before anyone else wakes up. Of the ‘weird’ things listed which one makes you happiest?
Having plans cancelled, but only if they’re plans with other people that I really didn’t want to commit to in the first place.

4. What’s the last good thing you ate?
I made broccoli and pasta the other day. Yesterday? Maybe. I don’t know how days work anymore.

5. Describe life in your 20’s in one sentence.
*velociraptor screeching*

6. It’s that time of year again…time for Lake Superior University to present a list of words (or phrases) they’d like to see banished (for over-use, mis-use, or general uselessness) in 2018. This year’s top vote getters are — unpack, dish (as in dish out the latest rumor), pre-owned, onboarding/offboarding, nothingburger, let that sink in, let me ask you this, impactful, Covfefe, drill down, fake news, hot water heater(hot water doesn’t need to be heated), and gig economy. Which of these words/phrases would you most like to see banished from everyday speech and why? Is there a word not on the list you’d like to add?
None of these really bother me. I’m getting really tired of “tea” being used as slang for gossip as of late, though. Just call it gossip, you nerds.

7. What’s something you need to get rid of in the New Year?
Myself My STUPID INJURY OH MY GOD WHY ARE YOU STILL HURTING

8. Where do you feel stuck?
Everywhere.

9. January is National Soup Month. When did you last have a bowl of soup? Was it made from scratch or from a can? Your favorite canned soup? Your favorite soup to make from scratch on a cold winter’s day?
FUCK I MISSED NATIONAL SOUP MONTH?!?!?!?! THIS YEAR SUCKS

10. Tell us one thing you’re looking forward to in 2018.
Nothing.

SURVEY TWO!

1. Do you prefer winter or summer? Why?
Summer. Better walking conditions.

2. What are your favorite winter activities?
Walking when it’s actively snowing but there’s not a lot of build-up on the sidewalks. Trying not to fall on the ice. Trying not to get frostbite. All that fun stuff!

3. Can you tell me about a time you went skiing or skating?
I’ve never skied. It’s been a long time since I’ve skated (the last time I remember skating was in 2007. It was my reward to myself for getting a 4.0 in a semester where there was no way in hell I should have gotten a 4.0).

4. Have you ever made a snow angel?
Long ago.

5. Is your house cold?
It’s 74 in here because Nate understands that he married a lizard and needs to keep said lizard warm.

6. Do you have a fireplace in your house?
Nope. Unless you count Nate, which you should, ‘cause his body temperature is usually high enough to qualify as fire.

7. What do you usually do to keep warm in the winter?
WARMTH IS AN ILLUSION

8. Have you ever gone hiking in the snow?
Not hiking. Just walking.

9. Tell me about a snowball fight you had.
Not sure if I’ve ever had one that’s memorable enough to recall.

10. Have you ever looked at a snowflake carefully?
I’ve looked a snowflake in the eye as I told it I killed its pa.

11. Do you have a sled? Have you been sledding?
I used to sled all the time. Our dog Mindy would chase me down the hills. Then I got a concussion after barreling into a clod of frozen dirt, ‘cause that how I roll.

12. What do you usually do after a big snowfall?
Hope that the sidewalks are still walkable, but walk either way.

13. What’s the best thing about winter?
I like snow. Ice? No. The threat of frostbite? No. But I like snow.

14. What’s the worst thing about winter?
Ice. And the melting period when the whole damn city is just a giant puddle and walking is the most frustrating thing ever.

15. Have you ever been in a blizzard?
Not a technical blizzard, no.

16. Can you describe ice for me?
It’s the devil.

17. Have you ever slipped on ice and hurt yourself?
I’ve slipped on the ice a decent amount of times, but never actually hurt myself past bruises.

18. Have you ever had to shovel snow?
Oh yeah. When I lived in that house with the guys I was the only one on that entire damn block who shoveled.

19. Will you be watching the Olympics?
HELL YES

20. If yes, what are your favorite events?
I love speed skating. And figure skating.

ONE! ONE! ONE SURVEY IN ONE!

I’m cold and bored, LEAVE ME ALONE

1. What is a normal thing that took you an embarrassingly long time to learn?
I don’t know if this counts at all since it’s not really something you “learn,” but it took me a long time to understand what a lot of people in movies were actually saying when they spoke. This was especially true in Disney movies. I focused much more on the intonations and “sing-songiness” of peoples’ voices and phrases and not really much on the actual words they said. Even today when I watch movies I first saw as a little kid, the memories of the “song” of the speech comes back to my memory much quicker than the actual words.

Maybe a more appropriate answer to this one would be the fact that it took me quite a long time to learn that sounds like “th” and “ch” and “sh” did not have their own letter of the alphabet but instead were comprised of multiple letters. I remember sitting in kindergarten trying to spell the word “chair” and freaking out because I couldn’t figure out which of the 26 letters in the alphabet made the “ch” sound.

2. In what ways are you old-fashioned?
Ways that would probably make me enemy #1 for some of my friends, so I won’t mention them. Don’t worry, I’m not a closet republican or anything like that. I’ve just got some old-fashioned views about a few sensitive subjects that I’d rather not express.

3. What is the best sandwich you’ve ever eaten? Where did you get it? What made it so delicious?
My mom’s grilled cheese. I got it from my mom. It’s delicious ‘cause of mom.
(It’s Colby-Jack cheese on potato bread. Try it. It’s so much better than your standard American cheese on white bread.)

4. What are you currently not bragging about that you should totally brag about?
The fact that I walked 5,100 miles last year. Because, you know, I haven’t mentioned that in the last five minutes.

5. What food have you never tasted and are most interested in trying?
None. None foods. I don’t like new things, they’re scary.

6. What history facts were you surprised to learn because it was never covered in school?
Pretty much any math facts or facts about those who came up with mathematical techniques and theorems. I think I would have enjoyed math more if we had gotten some human context to it, you know?

7. What is something that you waited entirely too long to start or stop doing? What made you say “Why did I wait so long?”
Walking for pleasure/exercise/the sake of my sanity. I used to shun it and thought it was boring. Now it’s my life.

8. What socially expected thing do you hate doing the most?
All this germophobe garbage. “Don’t touch the dirt!” “Sanitize everything!” “Ew you touched a worm that’s gross so many germs better saw off your fingers so you don’t get C O N T A M I N A T E D!!!!!1” This is why the superbugs will win.

10. What do you miss most about childhood?
Having so much time and potential ahead of me to do things right. Too bad I screwed it all up.

11. What “fact” did you learn in school that is not true or no longer true?
Christopher Columbus is a planet and Pluto discovered America.
Wait.

12. What’s your favorite piece of useless trivia?
The kilogram is the only SI unit that is still defined by a physical object rather than by a physical constant. The kilogram, “Le Grand K,” is a platinum alloy cylinder stored in France.

13. What’s your best go to homemade “lazy” meal
Handfuls of shredded cheese straight from the bag. You’re not an adult until you’ve snarfed down half a cup of cheese while watching Vine compilations on YouTube.

Actually, my typical “lazy” meal is “pass out on the couch and forget to eat.” That happens more frequently than I’d like to admit

14. What’s the title of this current chapter in your life?
“LOL You’re a Still A Failure”

15. What is a habit or practice that you learned from your childhood that you didn’t realize was “weird” until you were an adult?|
Uh…let’s not talk about that one. It’s private.

OH, CANADA

Yesterday: 12+ inches of snow
Today: -33℉ temperatures

Fun Canadian winter is fun.

Well That Was a Hell of a Dream

I’ve been having a lot of dreams lately that, when I wake up, I can just barely remember the gist of how they went. Last night’s dream, however, was much more vivid and memorable.

I’m in D.C. my dad and he’s all “let’s go see the White House.” So we walk over to the White House, knock on the front door, and are let inside.

(Y’know, how ordinary people normally get inside the White House.)

The interior looks suspiciously similar to our old house on Grant St. except there’s more furniture and Donald Trump and Michelle Obama (???) are sitting at this large table in the middle of the living room. My dad decides to jet on me, saying he had something he needed to do but would be right back, and I’m tasked with trying to make small talk with Trump Taco and Michelle. So I’m like, “I like your house,” and that’s obviously not a very impressionable thing to say to them because they just keep sitting there, smiling awkwardly at me like “who is this nerd?”

After a few awkward minutes, I notice that there’s a taste of blood in my mouth, and I realize that one of my upper teeth on the left side of my mouth is bleeding a little. So I excuse myself and go to the bathroom.

(Y’know, how ordinary people normally use the president’s bathroom.)

In the bathroom, the bleeding starts to get worse, and no matter how many Kleenex I use, I can’t get it to stop. It only takes about five minutes for there to be tons of bloody Kleenexes in the trash can, the sink, the toilet, and the tub.

But I’m like, “nah, they won’t notice this,” and decide to try to plug up the bleeding just using my tongue, since I suspect my dad is back by now and is angry that I was rude and left The Trumpster Dumpster and Michelle.

I open my mouth one more time to look at it in the mirror, and I can see blood just gushing out between my upper teeth on the left side of my mouth. I also notice that my cheek is starting to swell up quite a bit, as if I had a golf ball tucked in there.

NO BIG DEAL THOUGH, RIGHT, so I leave all the bloody Kleenex everywhere and try to wash the blood off my hands before I go back out there to see everyone. But as I’m doing this, the swelling gets worse and worse and then I start to feel the swelling move into my throat, making it very difficult to breathe.

I’m also shirtless, somehow, by this point, and I’m thinking that I really need some medical attention. Which is super embarrassing, but IT’S MORE EMBARRASSING TO DIE IN THE PRESIDENT’S BATHROOM, so through my rapidly closing airway, I manage to shout, “dad, I need some help!”

And then I woke up.

Yeah.

The scariest thing about this dream though? The fact that Trump was president. Good thing it was just a dream.

OH WAIT—

GET OUT OF MY CAR

I’m sure you’ve all seen this:

Which spawned this:

Now get ready for THIS!

It’s like a beautiful song, haha.

Edit: hahaha

0:53-1:15 is fantastic.

Explain to me…

Why this show opening of all show openings has been stuck in my head today.

“Cold Weather Conditioning”

That’s what I’m going to start calling my winter walks, because holy balls it’s been cold out there.

But you know what? You get used to it. When you spend 4+ hours out in nonsense temperatures (negative Fahrenheits) you do adapt.

Ha, I remember when I thought 1℉ was obscenely cold. Now that’s a completely tolerable and relatively warm walking temperature!

My limit seems to be -22℉. That’s when the frostbite starts. Though I guess I was only out in that for about 45 minutes, so I suspect that slightly warmer temperatures are just as bad if I’m out in them for longer.

I GUESS WE’LL HAVE TO FIND OUT!

(You should all know by now that I have zero common sense.)