Towering
Yay, today was fun! Nate and I went to the Calgary Tower and then to an indoor botanical garden/mall that was tucked away within the depths of downtown. It was super cool. Have some grainy iPod Calgary Tower pics, because I suck at remembering to bring my actual camera and also suck at taking good pictures in general.
Nate’s feet, my feet, and the ground far below us:
So much flatter than Moscow, haha:
And bigger:
It never even occurred to me to take a picture of us (not just our feet) in the Tower as well, but I’m the worst photographer ever, so what’re ya gonna do.
My anaconda don’t want buns unless y—oh I screwed it up.
Nate and I are going to CrossIron Mills this afternoon. From what he’s told me, it’s this huge, elaborate mall just outside of the main city.
My tiny little dilemma, though, is this: should I count it as one of my “Canadian Mall” installments? I mean, technically I’m not walking to it, which is the whole reason for my “Canadian Mall” series in the first place, but I looked at its location on Google Maps and I’m pretty sure there’s no way I could ever actually get there on foot. It’s a ways outside of the city, and given Calgary’s mercurial attitude toward sidewalks, there’s probably not a walkable path (also, I think the only way to legitimately get there is on the highway).
So yeah.
BUT ANYWAY. Fun weekend ahead! I’m excited.
SERIOUS BLOG (sorta not really)
Alright fools, settle in for a long read. I haven’t had a “serious” blog in a while and due to some recent events I feel the need to finally talk about what I’m going to talk about in this post, so this shall be a long AND serious blog (aren’t those just the BEST?)
But never fear…there is some fun to be had. This blog is about SEX!
SEX SEX SEX SEX SEX!
(Or lack thereof.)
(Whatever.)
(So I guess it can’t be too serious if there’s sex involved, right?)
(Right.)
(Sorry, I’m really hyper.)
Kay.
Just a warning: for any of my readers for whom sexual assault/molestation is triggering, this contains NOTHING like that, so there’s no need to worry about that. It’s more a “stupid grade school kids do stupid stuff” type thing, alrighty?
ALRIGHTY!
I’ve never told anyone about this, mainly because for the longest time I never really thought much of it. But the more I’ve pondered it, the more I realize that it’s probably had a bigger effect on me than I’d ever actually considered when I was younger.
So as some of you know, I went to a Catholic elementary school. We had “religion class” every day, we had Bible story coloring books, we put on these huge Bible-themed musicals every winter and every spring, and we went to church every Friday morning.
The school was also pretty strict about the things you might expect a Catholic school would be strict about. We couldn’t cuss—“crap” would get us sent to the principal (who was a nun, of course). We couldn’t talk about “naughty parts.” We couldn’t take the Lord’s name in vain, we couldn’t wear holey clothes (holy clothes were another story), all that kind of stuff. So you can probably imagine what our sex education was like.
Sex was bad and anyone who ever had sex was bad and even if you THOUGHT about sex you were bad and even the word “sex” was bad and everyone who had ever had sex ever (outside of marriage and/or for recreation) was bad.
In fifth grade we had a special night session where we sat in the auditorium and listened to a guy who did nothing but tell us about 11-, 12-, and 13-year-old girls who got pregnant their first time having sex and were therefore SUPER bad. We were basically told that if we had sex out of wedlock (and even if we had sex DURING wedlock but it wasn’t for procreation), we would be shunned by the Lord FOREVER and would never get into heaven.
Now as ridiculous as that might sound to people who don’t believe in God or heaven or anything like that (those of you who are saying “haha, no one would ever REALLY believe that!”), let me remind you of something: this stuff is being hammered into the heads of young children, most of whom leave the religious-heavy environment of school to head to homes that are as equally religious-heavy. I didn’t—I went home to my atheist mother who was always like “PFFFFT JEEZUZ”—but most of these kids had parents who were VERY religious and therefore by age 11 were deeply, deeply into Catholicism and truly believed this stuff.
So by the time we’d gotten halfway through fifth grade, we all were primed with this idea that sex outside of marriage and for reasons other than procreation would, 100% of the time, result in ACCIDENTAL BABY that no one would ever want and therefore was like the worst thing you could do.
(Aside from spitting chewed-up holy wafers at each other.)
(Which we did.)
(Blasphemous little heathens.)
ANYWAY.
So sex = bad, people who have sex = bad, blah, blah, blah.
Fast-forward a bit to spring of fifth grade. Back then I actually had a fair number of friends and we were all pretty close (heck, our class size was like 23, so we kind of had to bond with each other). Two of the people in our class, Jack* and Jill*, were related somehow (I’m still not sure exactly what they were), and for whatever reason in like March of fifth grade year they decided to have a huge sleepover at Jill’s family’s farm.
It was mostly a bunch of us girls—there were two dudes there, Jack and Joe*. We watched Space Jam and ate pizza and all that fun late ‘90s nonsense, then decided to just all stay up all night. The girls, including myself, were downstairs in this funky basement room thing with our sleeping bags all sprawled out everywhere. They wanted to watch another movie or something and I didn’t, so I decided to go see what the guys were doing.
Joe and Jack were hanging out in the kitchen and I joined them, and in a very short amount of time—because we were in fifth grade and rebellious and hyped up on sugar and Michael Jordan—we decided to go up to the attic and play Truth or Dare.
And as per the unspoken rules of Truth or Dare, things got dirty.
Well, I guess “dirty” is a relative word.
You know that “sex” thing that we weren’t supposed to even THINK about? Well, we thought about it. And really, thinking about it was all we did. I have to say here that Jack was never the brightest crayon in the box; he had the brilliant idea to dare me to let him have sex with me, to which I was like “OH GOOD LORD NO” (see, I’m not a TOTAL idiot) and luckily Joe thought the same as I did. So he came up with a milder dare for us: Jack and I would take off our shirts, he would crouch on all fours above me as I lay on my back, and we would “fake” having sex.
Which was okay with both of us, so we did that.
Let me stop here and emphasize a few points:
- Pants stayed ON. Hell, I think we still had our shoes on.
- By “crouch above me” I meant that he literally stood on all fours above me as I lay looking up at him. Our bare skin didn’t even touch.
- I didn’t have boobies at that point, so it probably looked like two shirtless dudes trying to do some weird yoga together, now that I think about it.
- “Faking sex” meant panting “OH JACK!” and “OH CLAUDIA!” while he wiggled his butt around in the air as if he’d taken an enema of bees.
- Again: WE. DIDN’T. EVEN. FUCKING. TOUCH.
So we did that for like two minutes before we got bored of it. The rest of the night involved mooning the empty barn across the way and licking various farm animals (that was actually probably the dirtiest part of anything that went on that evening).
The next morning everything was back to normal. No one—apart from myself, Jack, and Joe—knew about what went on upstairs, and so nothing was said about it.
Now fast forward to the week post-sleepover.
St. Mary’s is a pretty tight-knit school. Due to its size and its number of mandatory full-school activities, everyone pretty much knew everyone else. Usually this wasn’t a bad thing. But when it came to rumors, things spread like the plague.
You can probably guess where I’m going with this.
I think it was the Tuesday of the week after the sleepover. We were obsessed with 4-square and played it incessantly at recess. During our lunch-period recess, I distinctly remember standing in line behind one of my girlfriends, waiting to play, and she leaned over to me and whispered, “So you had sex with Jack, huh?”
And of course I was like, “Who told you THAT?” And it turns out she heard it from a friend who heard it from some other friend who had heard it from another friend who had heard a whole group of people talking about it.
I remember being in total shock about this. Obviously I didn’t start the rumor, so I knew the source of it had to be Joe or Jack. The following day during lunch I remember walking over to where he was sitting in the cafeteria and just blatantly asking him.
“Are you telling people we had sex?”
He just smiled and nodded.
“Why? We didn’t have sex.”
“We kinda did.”
“No, we didn’t. We had our pants on.”
“Well, that’s still kind of sex.”
The group of guys at his table were kind of staring at us by that point and I, of course, was about ready to cry (because that’s just how I am), so I just said, “No, it’s not! Stop telling people we had sex!”
Surprisingly, he agreed to this quite readily (I think my being upset really freaked him out and he didn’t want some crazy chick freaking out in front of his friends) and I honestly don’t think he continued to spread the rumor. I don’t think he was smart enough to be vindictive like that.
But the damage was already done. Walking back to my table, I was getting DEATH STARES from people. You know those over-dramatic teen dramas were a rumor is being spread about someone and you can hear people whispering about said someone as he/she walks down the hallway? That’s literally what it was like. I could HEAR people whispering about me.
I had sex. I was a slut. I was a sinner. I was a bad girl who should have known better. I was dirty. I was to be publically shunned.
Which was pretty quick to happen. I lost a large proportion of my friends over the rumor because they were convinced that I was a bad seed and that I had brought the shunning upon myself by behaving in such a blasphemous way. I honestly don’t think anyone willingly spoke to me (apart from teachers, of course) for like a month after the rumor began. People were more than ready to cast me aside as someone who had committed an egregious act and therefore didn’t deserve to be bothered with.
And you know what the worst part of all this nonsense was? The part that I didn’t really consider until probably three or four years ago? I actually believed them. I was on their side. I was a slut. I was a sinner. I was a bad girl who should have known better. I was dirty. I was to be publically shunned.
EVEN THOUGH I DIDN’T ACTUALLY DO ANYTHING.
EVEN THOUGH IT WAS
JUST
A
FUCKING
RUMOR.
I felt shame. Buckets and buckets of shame.
(What’s the unit for shame? Prevention’s in ounces; is shame in liters? I’ll say it’s liters.)
I felt liters and liters of shame. I had never felt so shamed in my life (and actually, I’ve never felt so shamed since).
In fact, I had fallen so far into my peers’ same belief that I had actually convinced myself that Jack and I did in fact have sex. I know that sounds obscenely stupid and you all probably think I’m an even bigger moron than you originally thought, but let me say a few things here:
- I was always a really shy kid. Fitting in naturally wasn’t really something I did because I’d never taught myself how to do it. Because I never really had the social graces to counter anything my peers did, and because peoples’ opinions of me had always held a fair amount of sway (I WAS just a kid, remember), I figured that they were right in disliking me.
- It was my claim that the whole thing was a rumor against the rumor itself, which was perpetuated throughout the school by every single other person who heard it. I never heard a single person express anything like “no, actually, that’s a rumor. She didn’t do it.” I didn’t really have much backing to defend myself.
- As I mentioned, this idea of “sex = bad” was BEATEN INTO OUR HEADS. Some kids vehemently believed this and were not afraid to show it. Hell, I was getting rocks and bark and sticks thrown at me for a while there.
So yeah. As stupid as it sounds, that’s what I felt. Multiple times, I was a breath away from telling my mom that I’d had sex and that I thought I was pregnant (another stupid belief; I hadn’t started my period yet, but I was CONVINCED that I’d had sex just as I was supposed to have my first period, so I was in fact pregnant). Thank Jeebus I never said anything to her.
So now that I’ve rambled about this for…*scrolls up*…four pages, you’re probably wondering why in the hell I’m telling you all this, and what it actually means. “This happened when you were 11,” you say, “and obviously you didn’t have sex or pop out a spawn or anything like that. So who cares?”
Well, as I said, I’d kind of pushed this whole thing aside for many years. I never really thought much about it after things finally started going back to normal (I think the fact that I didn’t pop out a spawn convinced a lot of people that I actually hadn’t done anything), and in fact didn’t really think about it at all for several years.
But when I was in my second semester at UI, Sean and I started talking over Messenger about sex. I think I’d told him that I was very cautious about sex and my virginity and whatnot, and he was curious as to why. We didn’t hit on this particular point of my past specifically, but the more I thought about why I was so cautious about such things, the more I kept coming back to this one incident.
It’s really, really hard for me to separate sex from shame…at least for me personally. I don’t think that everyone who has sex should feel shame (and don’t automatically shame my friends when they say they had sex or whatnot). But when I think about myself and I think about myself actually having sex (vaginal sex; I don’t have an issue with oral, apparently. Giggity.) I just can’t shake that feeling of impending shame. If I have sex, I feel like I will feel shame and will feel like I deserve to be shamed, and I think that that belief is quite clearly tied to the incident that happened in fifth grade.
Again, I know—it sounds really, really ignorant of me. You’re probably thinking “holy hot damn, this girl is a fucking moron!” But please note that I’m not saying that I should feel shame or that I should be shamed for having sex. I’m saying that that’s how I would feel.
I think those are very different things.
And so why the hell am I talking about this today, the 23rd of June, 2013?
Because I don’t have anything else to blog about
I think it’s because of all the women’s reproductive rights nonsense going down in Texas and in the country in general as of late. The whole notion of shame being so closely connected to sex and how “in the news” it all is just keeps bringing me back to that feeling. It’s an interesting visceral response. And it’s one of the main reasons that I have difficulty watching the debates or listening to anyone talk about the debates or even read about the debates, because the whole thing just makes me incredibly anxious.
BUT ANYWAY.
Holy crap, this is a long blog. Haha, sorry.
I just figured…why not finally write it all out?
*Names changed to protect the innocent (?)
ZbZbZbZbZb
Just got stood up again. Second time in a week.
Fuck this dating nonsense, I don’t need companionship. I’ve ruined every relationship I’ve ever had anyway, so why bother going through all that crap again?
Why does this keep happening?
So there’s this guy. (Yeah, I know. Every semester.)
I know you’re probably sick of me semi-fawning over some random dude seemingly every semester, but this time I’m just really freaking confused. I think I like him, and I think he likes me, but I’m so bad with relationships because it’s been like five years since I’ve had one that I don’t even know anymore. I’m afraid that I’m convincing myself that there’s something there just because I’m tired of being alone.
Plus he looks like a freaking movie star and is pretty damn smart, so I have no idea what he’d ever see in a stubby little idiot like me whose only consistent physical quality is looking like crap and whose only consistent mental quality is being a moron.
So who the hell knows.
[frustration]
You know what I love? When people get on Messenger just to dredge up shit from the past and make you feel horrible about things you did when you were an entirely different person, and even though said things happened FIVE YEARS AGO, the way they bring it up just grates against your nerves because it’s the same damn thing every time, which is why you stopped talking in the first place.
Good mood = gone!
[just ignore this]
The Jessica Saga
[Blogger’s note: this one got lost somehow and never got posted when it was originally supposed to!]
For whatever the hell reason, tonight I decided it would be a good idea to go back and look at my old MSN Messenger chat logs from a few years ago. The ones I spent most of my time reading were the ones between Jessica (Rob’s ex (maybe?????) girlfriend at the time) and myself. Most of these were during the time between my first date with Rob and my second date with Rob.
And you know what I’ve learned from re-reading these? Three main things:
- Good lord, that girl needed therapy.
- I used to be Captain Pushover.
- Present Day Claudia would not have put up with this garbage for nearly as long.
That last point makes me feel really good, actually. I mean, look at some of this vitriolic nonsense. I’m glad I wouldn’t stand for this crap anymore. Jessica’s in blue; I’m in red.
I’m not trying to make you feel bad… just I think I’m going to wind up loosing him to you
But why do you want to have a relationship with him???
why?
WHY?
I wish things weren’t like this
Same here
then how do you wish they were?
Easier, I don’t know
easier on who or for who??? HUH?
It almost sounds like he wants you to have a relationship with him how you’re saying it
Well, he does, I think…
He asked me on the date, after all, and he asked me on another afterwards…
WTF
Did he not tell you any of this?
I already know about the date on Friday
Just go do what you want
So had you guys really not discussed this, is that why you both went off for about an hour?
just forget it go do what you want
Well…I still feel very bad…
Forget it I give up I’m leaving you alone go on with your god damn life!
WHat the hell are you telling rob now?
MOre shit to make him mad?
I hate talking about you and ROb….
Well, then we don’t have to talk about it
It’s what’s bothering me most right now anyway
oh and I really don’t think highly of you
but you shouldn’t care what I think got it?
What are you up to other than talking to Rob?
Not too much
What about you?
Being a mess
Anything I can do?
Stop asking
I’d get Rob pissed at me
YOu know that
Then I’ll stop asking
Cause my answer would be is don’t fall in love with Rob
got it chickie?
I just don’t like how often you and Rob are having dates
Well, the one on Friday will only be our second
SIck of me huh?
I wonder who you’re hiding from… you okay kid?
This is all I”m going to say
I hate that you like him that he likes you and that you two want to have a relationship
Goodbye
Why do you like Rob?
I won’t bite I’m sorry
But do you really know how much of an asshole he is ?
YOu also made out with him how about that? Was that his choice too?
A guy probably isn’t going to say no to an idea like that…
He initiated it
What?
Or rather, it was kind of a mutual initiation
YOu two live in a fucked up little world
I fucking hate you
He’s got problems he won’t deal with he’s scared of trying….
He won’t talk to me anymore
I HATE YOU
YOu ruined fucking Pi day
You ruined it!
I’m sorry
But it was his decision to tell you everything that night, I said nothing about anything regarding that
YOu didn’t cause that fucking decision?
I didn’t tell him to say anything, if that’s what you mean
What did you say to him?
I didn’t say anything
He told me he was going to do it, and he did it
But you made him break a promise
What promise?
When he’d be back
I asked him if he needed to get back, and he said no
No no let’s go get food let’s go make out…
you’re toying with his feelings
I really hate you
I hope your relationship goes to hell I really do
You make me feel very depressed
That whole Rob relationship was toxic. Every bit of it. Ick.
YUP I’M STILL PROCRASTINATING
Things I should be doing: packing, cleaning, sleeping.
Things I’m doing: screwing around on Tumblr, screwing around on OK Cupid, watching Metalocalypse.
Speaking of OK Cupid, according to their match question choice thingies, everyone I’m compatible with lives overseas. Check it:
Life’s funny.
Also, expect a lot of surveys early this coming week. Won’t have internet for awhile.
Oh, THAT’S why I’m single! It’s all so clear now!
I thought it was my personality…turns out it’s just my bangs/the brand of my TV/my distaste for chicken wings/the fact that I’m an only child.
This is absolutely hilarious. A lot of the comments are from ladies who appear to be super offended, but just think it’s freaking funny.
What confuses me though is who exactly their target audience is. Their little blurb reads: “We’re letting women in on a little secret. Guys make lists too. And, they just made a list that addresses a question on the minds of single women everywhere. What are the real reasons they’re still single?”
The first sentence makes it sound like it’s directed to the ladies. The last sentence/question makes it sound like the list is for dudes to print out and check off items when they go on dates.
And they refer to the offending women as “She [does such-and-such]” on their list, but use “you”—as in, “you are from Texas, vile female, and therefore deserve to be single because geographical location is directly correlated to your datability potential” in the actual explanations.
So…who are they talking to, exactly?
Haha.
Red Flag #18: she cares about 100 Red Flags.
I’d like to make one of these for data analysis. 100 Red Flags: The real reasons your analysis is wrong.
Red Flag #1: You forgot to test for equal variances, you fool!
Red Flag #35: No, no, no…it’s “correlation does NOT equal causation!”
Red Flag #88: Oh god, you’re using SPSS.
Etc.
To SC:
I never told you why I did what I did to you. I guess that makes me a coward. But it also makes you in the dark about certain things, which I think is a good thing both for you and for the other(s) involved. In the short time I knew you, I’ve seen you too close to violence to trust telling you everything, even now.
I will say two things regarding what I did:
1) while it may not have been an appropriate way of doing what needed to be done, it got the job done (forgive me for putting it that way) and for that I’m glad I did it. I knew things wouldn’t have worked out. I think somewhere down in your unconscious mind, you did too.
2) at the same time, it was a petty, impulsive, short-sighted, juvenile thing to do to another human being. I know it may mean nothing to you, but I can assure you that I’ve been experiencing full-swing karmic backlash pretty much constantly since that day/night/week/whatever you want to call it. I still hope, though, that everyone who’s ever done what I did experiences that same karmic backlash. We deserve it.
Every once and awhile I really miss you. I miss how comfortable around each other we were. I miss knowing that when you came over I didn’t have to suffer through hours of pre-meeting anxiety like I do with everyone else outside my immediate family (and sometimes WITH my immediate family).
But I treated you badly. I argued with you on purpose. I pushed you away and hated you when you clung to me even after I’d yell and scream and cry and run. I didn’t want to accept the fact that someone wanted to get close to me, I guess. I don’t really know. I think I actually knew it wouldn’t work from the very beginning. Which is stupid, of course, because I shunned all my friends when they were so quick to point out to me that what we were getting into probably wasn’t a good idea.
Stupid, stupid Claudia.
But I suppose the past is the past. I still miss you, but things are better this way. And I’m not sure why this poorly-veiled blog-letter is happening today. Didn’t have much to say otherwise and you were on my mind.
Which happens sometimes.
Because I still miss you.
God I suck
Since my last discussion of OkCupid I have deleted my old profile (stalkers!) and started a new one. I know you’re not supposed to do that ‘cause it confuses the crapspackle out of people, but I’m me and I’m dumb and obnoxious and boring so what’re you gonna do.
I freaking need a COMPANION, my backup love reserves are overflowing with hearts and mush and sentiment.
But mostly mush.
It’s purple.
ANYWAY.
I’ve answered approximately 350 Match Questions (which is about 350 more than I’d answered on my old profile), so I decided tonight to do the map thing to see if things were different due to my question answers.
PICTURE!
So apparently the closer your state is to the beginning of the alphabet, the more compatible we’d be.
God, look how red Washington is. That’s hilarious I’m surprised that when I walk to Pullman I don’t repel everyone within a 3 mile radius. Or maybe I do!
Scary notions.
Oh dear
I used to have an OK Cupid account ‘cause I was enamored with their quizzes. The whole matchmaking bit was, for me, just “for teh lulz,” but then I got myself a few stalkers (surprise, surprise), so I cancelled my account.
But now I’m back ‘cause I want to take more quizzes. And because getting flattering messages from total strangers every fortnight or so was such an ego boost last time.
YES, I’m that lonely. So sue me.
Anyway, OK had made some changes since I’d last been on there, one of which being an interesting tool called the Match Map. By having you answer 20 match questions, the tool is able to determine which states contain people with who you would match well and which states contain people with which you would clash.
So I answered the questions and received my map. Check it out:
So…apparently the South contains my soulmate. Really weird. Haha, and I’d best stay out of New England if I ever want a dude.
Anyway. Just thought this was an interesting little doodad. OK Cupid has other fun tools as well, which I will take advantage of as time
goes on.
WOO!
And man, Arkansas shot way up when I said that I liked fat dudes.
I AM THE PHEROMONE LADY
Hmm.
So as I was trucking my way down to Granville Island this afternoon (it was going to be my Canadian Mall installment today, but that didn’t happen for several reasons, one of which being the water ferries suck), this guy comes running up behind me, stops me, and basically says that he saw me by the Cambie bridge and “thought I looked fascinating.” Then he gave me his number.
Cool, right? Yeah, except there was no way he was younger than 50.
Nothing wrong with older guys, of course. It’s just that I know from my, um…experience, I tend to attract the creepy older guys.
Stalker Dave.
Creepy Andy.
That weird married guy that decided to follow me everywhere for a bit.
The half blind guy who…yeah, he’s, um…yeah.
Interesting times. Should I give him a call?
OH, and so after missing all three buses required to get home (and having to subsequently wait 30 minutes for each of the next buses), I finally got on the 41 and spent the whole ride home with a guy’s crotch in my face. Quite literally. I had a seat but the bus was super crowded and the guy who was standing in the aisle next to me just happened to be the perfect height for crotch-to-face action.
He was kinda pudgy, though, so I didn’t mind too much.
And the fact that I just rationalized the crotch-attack of a perfect stranger as something I “didn’t mind too much” is proof of how ridiculously lonely I am up here.
I haven’t had physical contact since December, and even that was very brief.
FFFFFFFFFFFFFFF I need love.
Do naughty maize watch cornography?
You know what are hilarious? Relationships. I remember the great love trapezoids of 2008, what a fun year that was.
You know what’s even more hilarious than relationships? MSN conversations about them. Sean put up with a lot of crap.
Sorry, it’s been a long day. I had to go to fucking Burnaby to find Bisquick (Burnaby is approximately 2 hours away by bus/Skytrain). I also found shoes, but I didn’t buy them.
My life’s exciting, isn’t it? I’m in a bad weekend place, go to hell.
Today’s song: Kiss the Rain by Billie Myers
Are you ready for another emo Valentine’s Day blog? GOD KNOWS I AM
So I’d save this blog for tomorrow, but we’re going down to check out Olympic stuff and I’ll probably have something to say about that. Plus, I’m feeling extra super cynical this afternoon and there’s no better time to blog about Valentine’s Day than when you’re feeling so down.
Ready?
Go!
Every Valentine’s Day (except for the last one) it’s the same thing: why the hell am I single? I am not a bad person. At least, I’m pretty sure I’m not. There aren’t any people I hate, and when I dislike someone, I try to at least be nice to them, if not rationalize my way into liking them for some facet of their personality. I’m open-minded. I really am. Whatever your approach to life is, I won’t judge it, even if I don’t agree with it (unless you’re antagonistic about it/start attacking MY way of life…THEN you get an argument). I think I’m nice. I’m socially aware. When I’m in a group, I look around to see if everybody’s happy or if everybody’s having a good time. If they’re not, I try to figure out what I can do to change things. I certainly have drive and direction in my life. I can be super serious when necessary, but I can also be fun. You all know this. I can make enough puns to induce vomiting if I’m allowed to. I don’t know if I’m smart, but I’m very good at thinking (if that makes any sense at all) and can talk about a wide range of things for quite some time, if people like.
Maybe it’s because I’m shy. But I’m not that shy, especially if someone else strikes up a conversation first. Am I too school/career-oriented? Does that scare people off? Is it because I look weird? Do colors scare people? I know I’m not the most attractive person in the world, but I certainly try to NOT look like crap.
I don’t know. All I know is that I’m not a bad person.
So why am I all alone?
Whatever. Now I’m really depressed. I’m going to watch Apollo 13 and draw.
Today’s song: Reasons by To Have Heroes
Why am I a magnet for creepy old guys?
Seriously, does something about me say, “I’m 20 years younger than you…touch me inappropriately!”
Keep your nasty lips away from me. The last person they touched was very important to me.
Ew.







