Is a Profound Catholic Man Considered a “Deep Friar?”
Hello, fellows!
So I’m almost done grading all the assignments/tests for my stats class.
I think things went pretty well this semester, especially considering that I had about five days’ notice that I’d be teaching AT ALL. I think the best part of all of this, though, is the fact that I overcame my fear of public speaking. Seriously, when I had to present my thesis, which was just in front of four people, I really really had to practice a lot beforehand and, once the day came, I had to concentrate to not throw up/not stutter/not run off in fear.
After the first two or three lectures this semester, however, it was the most natural thing ever for me. I love the fact that my passion for stats and my passion for teaching others how to do stats totally eclipsed my fear of public speaking.
That’s a good feeling, my friends.
One thing I think should change, though, is that I really think that STAT 251 needs to be treated like a science class. That is, I think it needs to be bumped up to 4 credits and given a lab. Statistics is like the hard sciences in that it really needs to be applied to be learned. I think a lab—a day where the whole class would go to a computer lab and given an assignment or something to do using SPSS or Minitab or whatnot—would really benefit students.
That’s kind of what PSYC 218 is, actually, but obviously a lot of students who aren’t in psychology won’t be taking 218.
Just a thought. I know I have no control over that, but that’s what I’d change about this class.
Now I’m going to go screw around. BECAUSE I CAN!
So close I can taste it
It’s going to be very difficult for me to leave school again when it becomes time to do so. I know I’ve mentioned this on here before, but in “Ideal Claudia World of Ultimate Happiness”, I would somehow find a way to continue to go to school for the rest of my life. Also, in this world, I’d keep on working my current job, because HOLY CRAP I LOVE IT SO. This was actually the most fantastic semester ever because not only did I get to take a bunch of cool classes, but I also got to teach at the same time.
You know, now that I think about it, even though it’d be a total longshot and would probably never work, I should propose it to the President of the U of I. “I will complete every undergraduate degree you offer if I can keep working as a lecturer to pay for it.” I’ve always said I’ve wanted to do that and then write a book about the experience. That’d actually be pretty good publicity for the University, assuming it was actually a good book (longshot #2). And how cool would it be to study a University by completing every major it has to offer?
I don’t care how outlandish and stupid that idea sounds—it sounds cool to me. And I know I’d run into arguments that would go along the lines of, “well, if you’re actually serious about learning stuff, you don’t necessarily have to stay in school; you can learn things outside of the classroom blah blah blah blah blah.”
Yes, I’m aware of that. Two counters:
1) quite a few of the things offered at a Univeristy are things that, on my own, I probably wouldn’t have either the resources to learn or even just the ability to learn in an efficient manner. Take a foreign language, for example. I’m not too confident about my bilingual ability (assuming I would acquire some) and thus would probably do best in a classroom-type setting. Learning about something else in which I have no background would fall under this category, too.
2) I’m actually one of those people who learns best in a classroom-type setting. I suppose I’m lucky in a way; ever since I entered school I’ve been in an environment that naturally works for me when it comes to actually learning material.
But anyway.
A girl can dream, right?
Haha, sorry, this has been on my mind all semester.
Sigh. :)
Today was a very good day, due in no small part to two very enthusiastic stats students. I spent a total of about 6 hours between them talking about stats and HOW FREAKING COOL all these analyses get once you actually apply them to stuff you’re interested in.
That is all I feel like saying. Today was a very good day.
I’m a STATS MAN!
WOO THEY WANT ME BACK!
I’m going to get to teach again next semester!
I might get the TH class or I might get one of the MWF classes, but I don’t know yet. But YAY!
Now comes the incredibly difficult task of NOT creating a schedule for next semester until I know when I’m teaching.
Gonna go spaz now.
Pardon me while I go throw up for a bit
Holy freaking crap, have any of you been in the bathrooms in the Mines building? I opened the door to the third floor women’s bathroom by the College of Science office and I almost had a seizure.
I felt like I was in one of those glass-floored checkered rooms that they put babies in to test and see if they’ve got depth perception yet.
I freaking love my job.
LOVELOVELOVELOVELOVE.
Love x 10 billion.
I can’t believe how lucky I was to get this job. I guess the exceedingly horrible luck I had in Vancouver is finally balancing out.
It’s like I’m not even working, dudes. Each time I get a paycheck I’m like “WOAH FREE MONEY!”
I know everyone’s probably sick of me blah-blahing about my job, but hey. I finally have something to blah-blah about. So I’m going to enjoy it.
It makes me happy that people are starting to be comfortable being people
Today I went to campus to work on my lecture material for next week. I hung out in the library for like six hours before packing up my crap and heading to Winco. As I was walking down the hill past Ag Sci there was this little trio of people walking the opposite direction on the other side of the street. One of the dudes in the trio was wearing heels, leggings, and a little skirt. And he was just walking along, no big deal.
That made me happy. I know that Idaho’s certainly not the most “accepting” state in the country, but it gives me hope that this guy felt comfortable enough to confidently strut his stuff down the street.
But then I saw this pair of frat boy-type guys walking in the same direction as the trio, but on my side of the street. They spotted the guy and I thought they were going to make some snide remark to him, but one of the frat-boy types shouted “I dig your style, man!” very sincerely and gave him a thumbs up from across the street.
This made me even happier. People can be surprisingly awesome. :)
And to the gentleman in heels: I want those leggings.
Man, look at the air quality today
I missed the “early” bus this morning and was going to walk to campus, but last time I walked in this much smoke my eyes hurt for like three days straight. Since I have to proctor my students taking their exam today, I decided I would kind of prefer to have my eyesight for the morning and just waited for the “late” bus.
But tomorrow is WALKING DAY! I love Fridays for that reason alone. I should go to the fair, too. Anyone want to go to the fair with me?
Brink, you scary.
Proof:

I don’t know what disability having one leg and a wheel qualifies as, but it looks pretty bad.

I was thirsty and wanted some water. Then I saw this and changed my mind. It looks a lot creepier without a camera’s flash lighting it up.

In a brief interlude between artistic endeavors, M.C. Escher took a year off to dabble in architecture. During this time he designed Brink Hall.

This is in one of the bathrooms. The washer was running. I wonder if the cleaning crew does their rags in those washers?
Guys, can I spaz for a minute?
It totally hit me this afternoon.
I am teaching statistics.
Me.
I am freaking teaching statistics.
At a university.
I am responsible for the beginning statistical education of 137 college students.
The people in charge think I’m competent enough to teach my own section of statistics.
Teaching.
Teaching statistics.
Teaching statistics at a university.
Me.
Holy fslfjsgaahsdfjghlaweroaw.
I’m an educator!
Today I taught my first university class.
It was awesome.
I think it’ll take awhile for it to sink in that I’m actually independently responsible for a class of 130+ students. But I think it’s going to be the most fantastic time ever.
Oh, and I also had classes today!
- I’m taking SAS Programming, which will end up being super helpful because it prepares us for the SAS certification exam, which would put us way ahead in the job market because pretty much every company that does analyses uses SAS and wants people who know how to use SAS.
- And…CONCERT BAND! I haven’t played my clarinet in like three years, so the first few rehearsals will be interesting. BUT YAY MUSIC AGAIN FINALLY!
I’m done.
Claudia’s Post-Secondary Education: Round 2. Er, 3. 4 ½? Ah, who even knows anymore.
I’m baaaaaaaaaack…
SCHOOL TIME!
EXTREME EXCITEMENT!
Because of teaching (which will begin TOMORROW!) I cut my credits down substantially, which I think was a good thing even though it’s hard for me to take less than 20 credits. Or so I’m assuming. I’ve never done it before.
Anyway.
Today’s classes were:
- CALCULUS!! Freaking Leibniz party, man! I’m excited.
- Beginning Nonfiction!! I was going to take Advanced Fiction as well, but it’s right after my stats class (ha! MY stats class) and I figured that wouldn’t be ideal, especially since I’ll have 137 students and I think that at least some will have questions after class every once and awhile.
- And I’m taking the itty bitty one-credit trig class (MATH 144) because I never took trig in high school and I’d like to know what that’s all about.
So WOO!
More to come tomorrow. I’mma go run around the house a few times.
WISSJDFSLHGHDKSHR
I’m so totally in flail mode right now. Happy flail mode.
I have a grad student working for me (because there’s like 150 students in my section). That’s beyond creepy to me.
AND, while I was making the syllabus this afternoon, I realized that the grad student working for me is also the TA for the SAS programming class I’m taking. I have that class later in the day on Tuesday/Thursday after I lecture. That’s hilarious.
Edit: dude. I just realized…I GET TO TEACH THEM R.
Edit 2: my TA is the Joe Vandal twin that got jellyfish-mauled in Hawaii when we all went down there for the game.
[insert more flailing]
GUYS GUYS GUYS!
I just got a job as a lecturer for the U of I statistics department. I’ll be teaching the one Tuesday/Thursday section of STAT 251.
HOW FREAKING COOL IS THAT?!
This is what I’ve wanted to do for a long time now: teach statistics!
I’m beyond excited. I’m beyond nervous. It’s a class of 137 students. I have to create the syllabus/homework/exams, figure out how much material I can fit in 75-minute sections of time, practice so that my voice doesn’t waiver like a freak, and I’ve got exactly a week to do it all.
BUT STILL, HOW FREAKING COOL IS THAT?!
[deleted section of me mashing the keyboard in excitement]
Edit: aw, yeah.
Mind the Gap Year
BIG NEWS, READERS!
Actually, not really. Assuming all 11 of you subscribers read this regularly, maybe two of you will actually give a crap about this.
But whatever. It’s big news to me.
(this is a repeat for those of you on Facebook, so go ahead and skip if you want)
I’ve saved up a bunch of money working down here at PCC. I’ve decided to take that money and use it to go back to the University of Idaho for (at least) a year.
Why? Multiple reasons.
Reason one: the job market blows heavy metal balls chunks now. Sure, companies are hiring statisticians, but the positions open are all “Senior Statistician” or “Veteran Analyst” or “900-Year-Old Data Wizard”, meaning you need 10+ years of experience, a PhD, or both.
Reason two: I still feel like my math knowledge is insufficient for the level of statistics understanding that I’d like. I never took the actual factual calculus series (despite taking like twenty calc classes) and I feel like I really do need that plus the subsequent Mathematical Statistics course to really understand what the hell I’m doing. If I can crank out the calc classes and some other higher level math, I’d like to try to apply to a PhD program in stats.
Reason three: school is my hot sweet lover. We need each other. In bed.
Reason four: the “why don’t you just go to U of A/PCC?” defense. U of A is super expensive, and being a “transfer” student now (non-traditional, WOO!), I would have had to apply back in like January to have gotten any chance of getting in. And PCC is way cheap, but there aren’t that many classes at the level I’m at since it’s a community college and not a university. Plus, I have to go through a few extra steps to verify that my Canadian degree is in fact legit, and I’m lazy, so that’s a deterrent right there.
Itty bitty reason five: I miss having friends. Hopefully I’ll see you sillies up there as well as make some new friends in band. Yes, I’m taking band.
So WOO! I leave in a few weeks. Gotta pack and all that. Hoorah. So I guess this past year’s been my (super delayed) “gap year.”
Also, screw sleep.
You say tomato, I say existential crisis
Hello for the 2,178th time! Wow, that’s a lot of blogs.
Anyway.
Due to reasons that are still up in the air in terms of whether or not they’ll actually be reasons, I might—might—be coming back to Moscow in the fall.
Yeah, yeah, I know, “make up your damn mind already.” I would if I could, man. This “up in the air” stuff isn’t good for a planning, goal-oriented, future-focused person like myself.
But anyway.
If I come back, I’d like to go back to school (while working, of course) if at all possible. So in order to be able to implement that plan should it become a feasible option in the future, I reapplied for admission and subsequently signed up for just a few credits in the fall.
Better safe than sorry, no?
And I’d be lying if I said I didn’t enjoy making a schedule that might actually happen.
I wish my stuff would get here soon
Job interview in a week and a half!
That was fast.
In other news, I found out that the UI is looking for a lecturer for STAT 150 and that I’m totally qualified. Given what’s currently going on with me right now, I don’t know if I could handle a semester of lecturing (or if I’d even be good at it, who knows?), but I’m super tempted to apply and see what happens. Wouldn’t that be awesome if I got the job, though?
In other other news, all my material possessions are set to arrive anytime between next Monday and the 8th of November. I propose that our little gang gets together for some sort of Rock Band + pizza + sexiness – clothes party at some point. Especially since I wasn’t able to catch you guys over the summer. Who’s with me?
30-Day Meme – Day 29: Hopes, dreams and plans for the next 365 days.
1. Figure out what’s going on with my brain and get it under
control.
2. Develop coping skills that do not center around self-destruction.
3. Acquire money.
4. Take more classes! You know I can’t stay away.
5. Try not to die.
6. A bunch of other stuff that is contingent on point #1 (and #2, I suppose).
Wow
So I heard about the crazy homicide/suicide in Moscow. I didn’t know the young lady, but Dr. Bustamante was my professor for Psych 218 back in fall of 2007. It totally surprised me when I read about it, he didn’t strike me as someone who would do anything like that ever.
Strange, strange world.
Is it Friday?! GOTTA GET DOWN!
So I just found out today that if you ended your time at the U of I in good academic standing, you’re guaranteed readmission if you decide to re-apply.
And I’m sure I’ve told you of my not-so-secret desire to just stay an undergrad and get a major in every single subject offered by a school.
Therefore, this little tidbit of information makes it SO TEMPTING to just go back to undergrad, even though it WOULD be back in Moscow and I WOULD have to deal again with the most incompetent university on the planet.
But of course I won’t. I’m going to Western.
OH, and that got pushed back a few days for several reasons. I’m leaving Wednesday instead of Monday, so maybe we can all hang out at some point after all.
WOO!
UI schedule fun
So I should have been born in like 1991, because the U of I has had some really great classes these past two years. Here are the 25 credits I would like to take this semester, if I were there (click on image to bring to full size):
These plus MATH 452: Mathematical Statistics, which is a video course.
Nice, eh?
Just one more group of classes to go…
Two things really good happened today:
1. Work’s over. For me, at least. I want a few days off before the next semester kicks into gear.
2. Buddhism’s done with and I got an A in it. That’s always a good thing.
Okay, I’m done for now. Long day.
ARE YOU SERIOUS
God DAMN the U of I!
They cancelled Metaphysics!
WHY?! FUCK!
Too angry to blog. This ruined my schedule entirely. There are like three classes I had to NOT TAKE so that I could fit Metaphysics in that little block on Monday.
Screw it. Too angry to blog.
Road trip, University of Idaho-style
Haha.
So today was the day Team 4 of the University Housing Summer Crew got in the van and drove halfway up Moscow Mountain to clean a house the university owns up there because some big-wigs were coming into town and needed a conference place.
Let me tell you what happened there.
Alice decides that we should go up there after noon, so after lunch break like eleven of us get in the van (plus her and Roy, with the floor team following us) and we drive through town and up an old gravel road towards Moscow Mountain. I mention the gravel road because it’s important later.
After about a ten minute drive, we reach this HUGE house the university apparently owns about halfway up the mountain. Alice and Roy split us up into groups doing various jobs to make the house pretty before the conference that’s apparently going on tomorrow. I was alone, luckily, and I was in charge of watering all the plants around the house. Turn on the water spigot, nothing comes out. “Okay,” I think, “there’s no water on the outside of the house. That’s cool, I’ll just go fill up the watering can inside.”
Apparently there was no water anywhere in the entire house.
At this point I would like to mention that it hit about 97 degrees today.
So there we all are, stranded on a mountain in a house with no water, the floor crew completely lost as to how to do the floors, the rest of us just chilling as Alice and Roy have it out with each other over the whole water situation. Eventually, somebody gets the sink in one of the bathrooms to start trickling water at an alarmingly low rate; we’re instructed to do what we can with about an eighth of a bucket of water each.
Once we were done, we were still stuck up there waiting for the floor crew to finish, so we all sat outside on the driveway in the shade of the garage, antagonizing wasps with sticks and pretending to be awesome until 3:50 rolled around and we got into the van to leave.
By this point we each of us had exhausted our bottles of water and were all really thirsty and hot. Because of this, we decided to ride home with the van windows open—which in hindsight, was a bad plan, since the gravel got kicked up and turned us all a beautiful dust color and made us even thirstier.
But we got back, we got Otter Pops, and I unfortunately live to work another day at the U of I.







