Category Archives: Health

I AM SPEED

(NO I’M NOT)

But this is really fast for me. I know that’s sad, but whatevs, so is this ENTIRE BLOG.

Longest Run Update: 23 Miles!

WOOO!

Can I add another 3.2 miles to this to get to the marathon? It’s finally feeling doable, y’all.

OH GOD EVERYTHING HURTS

JESUS these booster shots mess me up. I’m not feverish this time, but every joint in my body hurts so badly that any sort of movement is very uncomfortable. My muscles are sore too (it hurts to breathe, haha), but my joints are definitely getting it the worst from this most recent shot.

The good: it only lasts for about a day or so, at least from past experience

The bad: it better only last a day, because tomorrow I have to run 23 miles. Right now I feel like I just fell down three flights of stairs.

Bugh.

VAXXED TO THE MAX

Nate and I finally got our COVID bivalent boosters today. Which is great, because it means better protection against COVID, but sucks because I’m SURE I’ll get some nasty side-effects for at least the next few days. I’m ready for it.

Edit: annnnnnd a migraine. Great. But it’s the first migraine I’ve had this year, which is actually pretty good. I was getting them weekly for a while there.

Y’know…

All this stuff coming out about long covid, increased risk of heart issues after infection, how your chances of long covid (and DEATH) increase with each infection…

…And people are still just wandering around in indoor crowded spaces without masks, pretending that everything is pre-2020 and that there’s not this airborne virus circulating around everywhere.

We are a dumb species.

Hypothermic Half

I did my run for the Hypothermic Half Marathon today!

Of course it was obscenely cold outside on the day I decided to do this, so I ended up doing it inside on the treadmill, haha.

Still counts, though!

I knew it!

I THOUGHT so.

I’m pretty sure my cycle was (is?) affected, and I don’t know if I’d call it “temporary.” I think it’s been different ever since I got the first vaccine.

This article talks about delayed cycle starts; mine is starting earlier it seems, though my time between periods has always been a little shorter than average. And I don’t think mine has gotten heavier – just…different.

Anyway.

Hey college students!

Y U no mask?

Covid isn’t gone, people. And Covid likes crowds.

I know it’s easy to think you’re invincible when you’re young, but I am SHOCKED at how few people are wearing masks now that it’s not mandatory. This includes professors – how can y’all feel safe going into a lecture hall of 200+ students without a mask? Or even worse – going into those crowded hallways as classes change?

I don’t get it.

Distance

Hahaha, I accidentally saved this treadmill distance of an astonishing 114.8 feet.

FREAKING MARATHON RUNNER RIGHT HERE

(Sorry, the semester’s starting tomorrow and I’m nervous as all hell about it as always.)

ACCUMULATE

So here’s that “running total” graph animation that I’ve been doing for the past few years showing my cumulative walking/running miles. Now updated for 2022!

It wasn’t even a contest last year. 2022 was up top like 99% of the time. Hell, 2022’s total surpassed 2015’s END OF THE YEAR total on June 16.

Let’s see what this year does!

OH LAWD, SHE WALKIN’

(Sorry.)

Guess what time of the year it is?

If you guessed Easter, you’re an IDIOT!

If you guessed “the start of the year, which means Claudia’s going to inundate us with a bunch of walking stats that no one cares about,” you’re RIGHT!

LET’S GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Here are my walking stats for January 1, 2022 to December 31, 2022.

Total number of walks: 365
Total mileage: 5,555.55
Total number of steps: 11,912,482
Total calories burned: 418,221
Total walking time (minutes): 80,253.19 [that’s about 55.73 days]
Average speed (mph) per walk: 3.72

5,555.55 miles is approximately the great circle distance between Fresno, California and Paris, France or between Toronto, Canada and Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Also, this is a new mileage record. Let’s demolish it next year!

Purify

Not sure how many people actually give a crap about COVID anymore, but if you’re one of the few who does, this is a handy little DYI air purifier. I’d love to make one of these for my office.

Run from the Blah

I don’t know why, but it seems like the less I feel like running before I actually start, the better the run is.

Yesterday was migraine hell and I was still feeling the fogginess and general craptitude this morning. But I started my run and BAM! It was a freaking fantastic one.

Odd news.

Migraine!

Yay!

ANOTHER MIGRAINE

WHY HAVE THERE BEEN SO MANY THIS YEAR

5,000 Miles for 2022

I hit 5,000 walking/running miles for the year today!

I’m too lazy to check, but I’m pretty sure this is the earliest I’ve hit that milestone in a year. I think it’s happened in December the last few times I’ve hit it.

So that’s cool.

That’s all, haha.

18.5

I have a long way to go to get to a marathon, but we’re making progress weekend by weekend.

Ugh, that pace is slow as hell, though.

(Sorry, these updates are pretty much going to come every Sunday now.)

YOU get a migraine! And YOU get a migraine! And YOU and YOU and YOU and

Hey brain, you wanna chill with these? Especially with the semester starting soon?

(Please?)

MI-to-the-GRAINE

Heyyyyyyyyyyyy guess what?

ANOTHER MIGRAINE

I have no idea why I’m getting so many of these lately, but here we are.

Maybe I’m just freaking out about the upcoming semester and this is how my body is dealing with that.

Ugh.

I GOT SHOT

BY A NEEDLE
IN THE ARM

Now I am COVID boosted. We’ll see what the side effects are for this one. Can’t be worse than the second shot, yo. That was rough.

MICRO

Want a nice quick summary of the micronutrients important in the human body? Check this video out!

(I’m mostly posting this so that I can come back to it later myself, haha)

Time for Early Morning Running!

So it’s that time of year again when I’m going to have to start getting up obnoxiously early to go running. Specifically, I’m getting up at 4 AM so that I can start my run at 4:30.

Pros:

  • No one is out at that time of day and it’s GREAT
  • I’m done with my run and back home by around 9 AM, which means I’ve got the whole rest of the day to do my nonsense
  • It’s nice and cool out (relatively)

Cons:

  • I HATE GOING TO BED EARLY
  • I HATE GETTING UP EARLY
  • Seriously, it takes so much effort to get up that early for me. Like…4 AM is my natural bedtime.
  • As the year progresses, it will start staying darker longer in the morning, which is always super depressing

BLAAAAAAH

You know what’s better than a migraine?

Being five miles out on a walk and getting that sweet, sweet scintillating scotoma aura in the middle of your vision and you have to deal with partial vision loss for 30 minutes and then the migraine itself for another several hours and then that fuzzy, out-of-it post-migraine feeling after that.

THE FUN NEVER STOPS I TELLS YA

On a completely unrelated note, my job title has apparently changed. I am no longer a “lecturer” but am instead an “assistant professor (teaching).” Which sounds WAY cooler, so I’ll take it.

If I actually get tenure when I apply for it I’ll become an associate professor.

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Some of Us Still Care

Yeah, okay.

Or…
Or…

Maybe some of us are extremely careful and are vaccinated, distance from others (and, if we can’t, we wear an N95 whenever we’re around others), and are able to only be around people from our household (who also are never around others).

Does it mean we can’t go to restaurants? Sure. But is doing so really that important anyway? Ugh.

ScotomaaaaaaaaaaaaaaAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

I know I’ve posted about scintillating scotomas on here several times before, but I just found this video:

I had no idea Herschel experienced these. That’s kinda cool.

Also, that drawing at 3:34 is ridiculous. That’s exactly what they look like (except in real life they, you know, scintillate).

Super interesting.

OOPS, ALL VARIANTS!

Are we really doing this again?

Look, I get that much of the variation of COVID has just come naturally as the virus has changed.

But JESUS don’t you think worldwide preventative measures would have helped a little?

I am in awe at this species’ inability to experience empathy. I really am. Everyone is so damn selfish and stupid.

Why are we still dealing with this virus in 2022? Stupid people. Stupid, selfish people.

That’s why.

I hate everyone.